We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location if visiting the university”

Academy Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Academy Motor Lodge
Ranked #81 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 15 February 2010

This was recommended by the University of Canterbury staff who were running the 5 day block course I attended with two other colleagues. Staff friendly enough but if you are arriving late make sure you call ahead, the office generally closes at 9.30pm I was told. Our flight was delayed and late arriving and luckily I did ring ahead and the manager stayed open till we got there - not sure what would have happened if we didn't do this.

Rooms are clean and tidy but very 80's decor, i.e. tired. Sky TV only has basic channels and sometimes the movies channel switches to parental lock later in the evening. Luckily I brought a couple of DVD's with me to watch on my laptop. There is Wi-Fi available but you have to pay to use it. Should be complimentary in this day and age. This will affect my decision whether or not to come back here.

Restaurant - my experience echos those of previous reviewers. The woman who usually runs it is rather blunt and indifferent in the morning. She makes the cooked breakfast when you order it and this can take a while - stick to the continental if you're in a rush as this is self service. Unfortunately because this is a residential area, there are no other options close by. Perhaps try the university's Cafe 101 - I didn't, so don't know if it's open early, nor where it is exactly on campus.

The proximity to the university and cleanliness are the main positives. Also excellent parking on site and generally pleasant environs.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FPL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2009

I've only stayed here once, and get the feeling I ended up in the worst room in the place; the others might be better. My 'studio', a dark space with a tiny window, fronting on to a main road with all the traffic noise, was not particularly nice. Its only access is through the motel's restaurant, which means you can come down the stairs in the morning and run straight into a table of diners, nearly tripping over them and your suitcase all at the same time. This arrangement also ensures there's absolutely no privacy when coming and going; you exit your room into the full glare of publicity. It's actually quite horrible. This room's location above the kitchen means that the smell of old Canterbury lamb (or is it mutton?) wafts up the stairs and permeates this room. Yuk. The room itself is rather tired and very basic but, once again, I have no idea what the standard rooms are like. The check-in staff, however, are very friendly; the woman in control of the restaurant much less so. If you stay here, ask not to have the room above the restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otagotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2007

This place has a neat combination of typical motel rooms and small apartments with full kitchens. There is also a fully-licensed restaurant on the premises that serves breakfast and dinner (we're never around for lunch, or have it on our own in our room's dining area). Staff will bring meals to your room if you prefer not to go to the restaurant. Very clean, staff is friendly and helpful. It's across the street from Canterbury University, making it very convenient for us, as we have many University ties. Not far from airport. When the wind's right, planes fly low overhead, only drawback, but we've gotten used to that. Headed back there this month.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dracaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nakano.lab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DELPHINE974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.2 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#72 of 146 in Christchurch
67 reviews
2.9 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
2,087 reviews
2.9 mi away
Abbella Lodge Motel
Abbella Lodge Motel
#43 of 146 in Christchurch
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Airways Motel
Airways Motel
#17 of 146 in Christchurch
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#79 of 146 in Christchurch
64 reviews
2.4 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#134 of 146 in Christchurch
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Motor Lodge

Address: 62 Creyke Road | Fendalton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £44 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Academy Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing