We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northcote Motor Lodge
Ranked #67 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed at Northcote Motor Lodge for a week and were surprised to find that we did not get the room service that we are normally accustomed to - just a fresh towel and the rubbish bin emptied each day. Parking was definitely tight and if you arrived back late in the evening that was tough. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. We were very close to some cafes and restaurants which we took advantage of and had some great meals. Our hosts were very nice, friendly, obliging people.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2012

I just wanted a bed for the night in the Northern side of Christchurch and this motel I would definately recommend. Good value for money, clean and tidy. Would stay there again if I needed to stay on this side of town. Close to some cafes and restaurants and a 15 minute walk to Northlands Mall and plenty more bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSnakebite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Getting any kind of hotel in Christchurch is very, very tough since the earth quake. All of the hotels in the area share a reservation system, so if you find someone nice they can tell you who has availaiblity. We got this one within 10 min of someone else cancelling a reservation.. yes it is that tight. Room was very clean.. but it is a 1-2 star experience.. I don't recommend staying anywhere in christchurch for long.. go outside the city if you have longer stays in mind. This is a very nice place.. but not somewhere you want to do anything but sleep. Just 2 weeks prior a family had been living in our unit for the last 12 months.. wow.. that is tough.

Room Tip: Parking is a nightmare
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We were placed on the ground level. The unit was compact, but had all that we needed. The parking was a little tight, but fortunately there weren't too many people staying at the time. The unit was clean, and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marge K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

When we arrived we walked into a freezing cold room as the door was wide open, it did take us a while to warm the room up and when we did it was pleasant. The bed was comfy and it was close to town. I had to go to the office a couple of times and each time i felt like i was more of a hassle for the lady than a customer. Over all it was a quick visit and the room was lovely, once it was warmed up.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katieNZ_7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

My wife and I regularly travel to Christchurch to visit our daughter who is studying there.
We have used several accommodation providers and now prefer to stay here because of the location (between friends and our daughter) and the quality of the accommodation which we always find clean, economical and comfortable, being next door to a service station it is easy to obtain all the little bits we need and is also just up the road from the large Northlands Mall. The hosts are always very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosemary54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

My family and I stayed here as it was in the area we needed for visiting family and friends, the unit was great, lots of room and very warm and clean, Morag and Dave were very helpful with brochures and discount vouchers for our family to be able to do entertaining activities, i would highly recommend this place to everyone, was brilliant, and thanks soo much for the hospitality, we hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebradybunch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.8 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#70 of 146 in Christchurch
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garden City Motel
Garden City Motel
#45 of 146 in Christchurch
100 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cranford Cottages and Motel
Cranford Cottages and Motel
#47 of 146 in Christchurch
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#133 of 146 in Christchurch
72 reviews
2.9 mi away
Southern Comfort Motel
Southern Comfort Motel
#74 of 146 in Christchurch
113 reviews
3.1 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#30 of 146 in Christchurch
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcote Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcote Motor Lodge

Address: 309 Main North Road | Redwood, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £52 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Northcote Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our comfortable, warm and very quiet units. We have 16 rooms with something to suit all budgets. There is a mix of Standard or Deluxe 1 bedroom units and Studios. We also have a large spacious 2 bedroom unit which can cater for a max of 5-6 guests. Some Deluxe Units are upstairs and one of the Deluxe Studios has a spa bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northcote Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing