We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located to the city of Christchurch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtesy Court Motel
Ranked #95 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 25 May 2013

A one night stay in a very pleasant, modern and clean motel room with kitchenette and lots of parking. It was only a few minutes walk into the city from the motel. We dined at Little India, Merivale, which was only a couple of minutes drive away. The wifi was free, which is always a bonus. It is sad to see the city of Christchurch so devastated. It will obviously take some time to recover financially from the effects of the earthquake.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joram48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

We only made reservations here because of its proximity with Intercity Station. However, we were more than impressed by the place.

The room was clean, modern, and large. The location was very convenient. And we even got free, unlimited fi-wi, which is quite rare in NZ. Overall, great value for price, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teaforte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This was our last stay in a short tour of the South Island and we were so disappointed. We arrived with friends and had made our bookings a lot earlier through the AA together, but were given rooms nowhere near each other in fact in separate buildings. The rooms were dark and pokey, and smelled musty, in fact so bad we had to sleep with the window open. The bathroom on the upper floor was very tiny. The towel rail which should have been a heated one had the switch removed and taped over so we couldn't have warm towels, this was also the case in our friends room. When our companions discovered she had no milk in her fridge and went to the manager for some, he did not believe her and she almost had to beg for milk.

We would not recommend this motel to anyone, even if Christchurch is short of accommodation at the moment this motel was below standard.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We had a short stay here arriving about 6pm and leaving early in the morning for the Transalpine train. The host was helpful and gave us advice on catching a taxi to the train station in the morning. Fresh milk in the fridge for tea and biscuits were nice touches. The room is quite spacious with fairly basic fittings. We planned to walk to the casino for dinner but stumbled onto the Thai container restaurant which has great food. Children playing downstairs were pleasant and not noisy once it got dark, our taxi driver explained that some families are staying in motels for several days or weeks while their homes are repaired following the earthquake .
The motel is convenient and provides modest accommodation .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed at this motel on 13th March 2013 for one night. We found that the motel owner was not courteous unlike the name of the motel he runs in fact he was quite unfriendly. Free internet was promised but the motel owner insisted to enter the password in my device himself which I found was gross. The motel room was dated and really tiny and the kitchen was very basic. One would have expected Christchurch (still rebuilding from the earthquake) people to be friendly and welcoming to attract more tourist activity. However contrary to that, this motel owner showed no interest in helping out us as tourists in a new place.

If you cannot find a suitable motel then this is an option but definitely don’t keep it on top of your list when booking motels in Christchurch. We would hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the ground level, this will be handy if you have plenty of luggage as you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed here at the end of our absolutely amazing NZ trip and were really let down by this motel's service. We chose to stay here with a packaged trip and were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the room, which was really great no questions asked, the room was very clean tidy, had a small kitchenette and a very modern bathroom with a seperate shower stall. The room itself was very nicely decorated.

What was the biggest CON of this place is the owner - it's this chinese man who is Very RUDE to say the least. We had asked for an early check-in but when we reached the place he just denied and pointed to a paper stuck on the wall which said check in at so-n-so time, did not want to listen to anything we had to say, so left with no choice we said ok pls keep our bags here and we will come back in a while to check in, but no he refused to even look after our bags!!! So we just had to WAIT the duration out in the so-called reception area which did not even have 2 chairs and ofcourse there was NO COURTESY shown. Our misery did not end here, next day when we asked him to give us some food delivery numbers or directions to a certain place - the guy made ZERO effort and just shunned us away. And this Ridiculous behaviour continued to the day we were checking out, where again he refused to look after our bags or extend our check-out time!!! Absolutely spoiled the end of our trip for us!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpreadingSmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

If your looking for basic and clean then this ticks the boxes. clean rooms and good cooking facilities however someone must have cooked a curryprior to our stay so it was a tad smelly. Location is good as near most things. So functional and good location just could do with an upgrade.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#70 of 146 in Christchurch
66 reviews
1.0 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
2,030 reviews
2.7 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#84 of 146 in Christchurch
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cranford Oak Motel
Cranford Oak Motel
#48 of 146 in Christchurch
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Achilles Motel
Achilles Motel
#111 of 146 in Christchurch
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#135 of 146 in Christchurch
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtesy Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtesy Court Motel

Address: 33 Sherborne Street, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £50 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtesy Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtesy Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtesy Court Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing