We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly Room and Poor Treatment of Guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtesy Court Motel
Ranked #93 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We have stayed at numerous hotels and motels, but never before have written a bad review, or had anything stolen. We politely reported an expensive aftershave stolen from our locked room, and we were made to feel like we were making it up or had mislaid it. The managers just looked at us blankly, and the cleaner made us feel like we were imagining it. There was no apology, neither did they care that someone had entered our room and been through our drawers and bags, and left them open. It was as if they just didn't care! The room was damp and smelly, but we never complained. We came home with all our clothes smelling like the damp room. We chose it because it was handy to the city and walking distance to our conference, but it wasn't worth the tariff, and wouldn't recommend this motel to anyone else. Would never stay there again, because of the way we were treated by the staff.

Room Tip: wouldn't recommend it at all, but especially not the rooms right down the back of the section in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Proprietor may not intend to, but comes across as rude, belittling and dismissive.

Parking good, simple location to find.

Room had dated but wholly functional decor and fittings. Primary issue was the lingering smell. Room in general was musty but the bathroom had a deeper stench of body odour and drains.

Unlimited wifi welcomed.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank aceadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The devastation in Christchurch makes getting accommodation in the CBD almost impossible. This great little place is just outside the main CBD area, but certainly within walking distance.
The room was clean and well maintained. It included fridge, kitchen sink and a hotplate cooktop.
This was a great option at a reasonable price.
Though the state if Christchurch city at the time made finding dinner difficult. but there was luckily an Indian restaurant a block or two away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystalaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Our 2 night stay at courtesy court was at the end of our 4 weeks in New Zealand. We had unit 1 which was a 2 bedroom apartment. It was clean and tidy, there was adequate space for us and our 2 tall teenagers. It is not flash, but it was perfectly fine for 2 nights. Apart from a bit of paint peeling off the walls here and there, it was reasonably well maintained. We appreciated the small jug of fresh milk left in the fridge ( although it was only enough for 3 cups of tea!). Most other hotels we stayed at only provided UHT milk which we do not like). We walked into the central city and back from this location with no problems, so I don't think a car is absolutely necessary. There is a milk bar (called a dairy in NZ) nearby as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngeC258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Nice stay with my wife for one night. The room was spacious and neat. Very clean and tidy. The water pressure in the bathroom was little low. Free wifi. I would highly recommend. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jimmy_sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night, just needed something clean for the night before our flight early in the AM. The room was too pricey for the ~NZD 100 I paid. It is clean but very outdated and tiny.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kivister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Nice greeting at check in and helpful information on local eateries
Room was spacious (10) with plenty of room has kitchen facilities
and as other reviews have stated the motel needs a little TLC
Clean and tidy I would stay again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lampardTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#72 of 146 in Christchurch
67 reviews
2.7 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#81 of 146 in Christchurch
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Achilles Motel
Achilles Motel
#105 of 146 in Christchurch
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Glen Lodge
Country Glen Lodge
#48 of 146 in Christchurch
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#134 of 146 in Christchurch
73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cranford Cottages and Motel
Cranford Cottages and Motel
#47 of 146 in Christchurch
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtesy Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtesy Court Motel

Address: 33 Sherborne Street, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £49 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtesy Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtesy Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtesy Court Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing