We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”
Review of The Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Garden Hotel
Ranked #98 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I found The Gardens to be a great place to base ourselves. The front of house staff were friendly and informative. The room itself [twin motel unit] was clean tidy and comfortable. We had a small kitchen area which was enough to do drinks , snacks etc. Beds comfy and bathroom good and clean. We enjoy the restaurant here as the buffet has something for everyone and is well stocked. The restaurant staff are on the ball and clear the tables often. Reading other reviews I guess people look for problems and can get picky. The Gardens are always busy so I guess you couldn't say that for a lot of other restaurants in ChCh so the food is always freshly done. Yes things may not have been up to scratch after the earthquakes but then what place was? Also the gardens is close to the local mall "The Palms" so this is handy for shopping , the new shops at the front also provide more choices for dining. We like it and will definitely stay again. A great place to dine if you have a large group or bottomless pits of teenagers to feed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden H, Front Office Manager at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for the great review. It is nice to get positive feedback regarding staff, the hotel complex, buffet restaurant and the positive growth in our local community. We look forward to seeing you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    24
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
27
14
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here with a big group and was brilliant to have so many room options/ prices. Compared to other places closer to city, this is great value. Major shopping centre easy walk away. Really good buffet meal available. Nice rooms that were re-decorated after earthquake I think.

Room Tip: There are lots options/different rooms. Make sure you ask to get the correct option for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenmarshland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden H, Manager at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are an affordable Hotel complex with room rates to suit all budgets. You are very perceptive!...we are indeed in the process of updating our rooms. We are focusing on completing the painting, installation of new LED lighting, updating our furnishings and also installing new insulating measures to our Motel studios.
We take guest comments seriously, and have undertaken these measures based on feedback from guests. It is a long process with 60+ units to tackle but we think we are heading in the right direction with these much needed changes.
The Buffet Restaurant is a great opportunity to have on site for travellers, as it does offer plenty of international dishes to suit all tastes and is a great price.
Thank you once again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

The garden hotel is well maintained, clean and in good condition. It does however lack a lot of little things that would have made it perfect.
-We had to ask for an iron and ironing board, this should have been standard.
-No shower caps, we had to buy our own.
-beds were appalling, felt like sleeping on a wire cage.
-Poor lighting in the rooms meant it was hard to iron, read or do anything productive in the room at night.
-lack of safe.
This is a shame because as mentioned our room (214) was clean, the bathroom was fantastic. There is a bar fridge, kettle and supply of tea and coffee in each room, and a tv with the basic sky package - not the full sky as seems to be offered in the north island.
Another negative was lack of privacy - our room had full height glass sliding doors that opened to a communal grassed area, but there were no net curtains even to offer privacy while someone was changing or even resting during the day.
I know the region has struggled a lot with maintaining high standards due to the earthquakes, and I could deal with cracks and doors that don't close properly but the issues I have raised are not earthquake related, they are service related.

We didn't use the onsite facilities or restaurant so couldn't comment on those. You get one hour free internet each day, which is ok I suppose, but as someone who travels a lot for work, this kind of accommodation was a little disappointing when traveling for leisure.

Helpful?
Thank buds_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden H, Manager at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Hi There
Thank you for the review. We do appreciate feedback and strive to improve our performance where ever we can here at the Hotel.
The Hotel does supply irons, ironing boards are stored at the Hotel reception for two reasons. For one, in some rooms there is no ideal area to store these items. As well, we have in the past, have had problems of theft with such items. So, instead of requesting a deposit from guests wishing to use the iron and iron board, we store them at Reception and upon request will deliver them to your room and document items borrowed. There is also a iron and iron board available for guests in our 24 hr laundry.
You noted the bed was not to your liking. We will investigate the room in question and consider if the bed requires to be changed.
Regarding poor lighting, the Hotel complex is in the process of changing our lights to LEDs which provide a more vibrant source of light then what we currently have in place. It is an issue that we are currently addressing.
We do have safes available in our motel studios. Our compendiums also inform guests that the Hotel have safe deposit for guests available at Reception.
The Hotel has decided not to use net curtains as they tend to disintegrate with sun exposure. With other units, we have opted to provide privacy by strategically frosting windows to provide guests with natural light as well as privacy. The unit you occupied does not have this, however it is something we may need to consider.
We offer 1 hour of free internet per guest per day with other internet packages available for purchase at the Hotel.
Once again, thank you for the review, and we will endeavour to improve on the above mentioned issues you have brought to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We arrived at the motel and the first thing i noticed was food on the wall above the sink, and some green stuff in the sink. The reason for our trip was a Wedding Anniversary outing with our cousins, who celebrated their Wedding Anniversary..BEDS... Roll together big time, couples ending up sleeping apart, Unit Dirty, Restaurant buffet closed, Water pressure was shocking. I would not recommend this complex to groups, couples etc, its just slightly better than a back packers.

Couple having their Wedding anniversary ruined were very disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden H, Front Office Manager at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, your feedback is important to us.
Cleaning concerns have been brought to the attention of the head house keep who has discussed our expected standards with the staff responsible.
Mattresses are of medium softness and are of hotel quality grade. These beds you have made note of have been checked over and are still in a comfortable state.
Restaurant closes for a 10 day period over the Christmas break and has done so for the last 15 years. The holiday hours and closing period was listed on the website and clearly posted on the restaurant and café doors. All enquiries to dine at the restaurant during this time would have been advised of this.
The water pressure at our complex is good; it has been tested and is fine. The large bath in your unit takes approximately 10 minutes to half fill with hot water only.
We are sorry to hear that you stay at the Garden Hotel was un-enjoyable and that your guest’s special day was disappointing. Had your concerns been brought to the attention of staff at the time of your stay we would have gone out of our way to make it a more pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is a big complex with a Restaurant and conference rooms but it was on the outskirts of Christchurch. I would say alot of tours stop there. The bathroom lightbulb needed replacing which was done by the time we got back from dinner.The room was clean and spacious, there was somewhere to put toiletries but the bed was not good. Had a great shower the next morning and left thinking the complex needed some maintenance it was a bit tired.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This place was an absolute waste of money, I've stayed at many places for less that were of far better quality and cleanliness, right down to no toilet paper left in our room, very very disappointed, I booked for a large group two rooms required daily cleaning included a change of couple towels and blanket pulled over bed, one of our rooms got no towels no toilet paper for 2 days, because we returned to our rooms after reception hours we were forced to share 5 towels between both rooms with a total of 10 of us, that's plain disgusting, sink plugs were dirty and rotten. I will never recommend The Garden Hotel to anyone, and will be sure to post a facebook and travellers review!!!!!

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tee n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We always stay in the Garden Hotel. It has plenty of parking, it has a small kitchenette and it is QUIET. It is far from fancy but friendly and clean. It is easy to get into the city and to other places around. The Shirley shopping center is very close to the motel. I can recommend it, if you like to have a good sleep without paying a big price. The beds are very comfortable and I slept like a log.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MargitandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton Mill
Hotel Carlton Mill
#81 of 144 in Christchurch
85 reviews
2.6 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 144 in Christchurch
1,690 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#39 of 144 in Christchurch
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cranford Cottages and Motel
Cranford Cottages and Motel
#43 of 144 in Christchurch
78 reviews
1.6 mi away
Avalon Court Accommodation
Avalon Court Accommodation
#121 of 144 in Christchurch
45 reviews
4.6 mi away
Econolodge Canterbury Court
Econolodge Canterbury Court
#85 of 144 in Christchurch
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Hotel

Property: The Garden Hotel
Address: 110 Marshland Road | Shirley, Christchurch 8061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Hotel is conveniently situated minutes away from the Palms Shopping Mall. The hotel features 62 hotel/ motel rooms. We have rooms that are suitable for families, tourists, sports groups/ teams, business or corporate travelers that are visiting the "Garden City". Our units are quiet and we have a spacious free car parking available.Our hotel units are fully installed with air conditioning. For wine and dine options, you could choose from the different facilities that we have - Garden Restaurant (Buffet) GBC -Garden Bar & Cafe. We are only 5 minutes drive away from the heart of the city where you can take a stroll along the picturesque Avon River, from which the views of the Southern Alps can be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing