We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant service, setting and meal”
Review of 50 Bistro

50 Bistro
Ranked #93 of 978 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$40
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Relaxed dining with inspired bistro fare 50 Bistro offers inspired bistro food with modern flavours, excellent wines and a great bar. The menu offers a large variety of dishes featuring classic’s twisted with our own 50 flair. Executive Chef, Darren Conole, leads the kitchen team designing seasonal menus using the best local produce. The stylish interior flows out to a generous outdoor area, complete with fire tables that reflect the warm hues of the orange onyx wall inside, making 50 Bistro the perfect place to meet any time of the day for coffee, cocktails and bar snacks or a meal. With windows overlooking Hagley Park, breakfast in 50 Bistro is the ideal spot to start any day. Lunchtime brings with it a buzzy vibe offering great versatility and value with a selection of light meals and salads in addition to entrées and grills and desserts. Evenings bring heartier comfort dishes and a warm ambience, perfect for relaxing with friends.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Brilliant service, setting and meal”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I didn't realise service at this standard was available in New Zealand. I organised a party for a group of senior academics (not the easiest of clients at times), and the Anita and Ankit managed it perfectly. Great set menu, v good wine selections, and details watched very well. Would recommend to anybody looking for a large table function.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear teataotu,

We are delighted that you and your group enjoyed your recent dining experience in 50 Bistro. Thank you for your kind comments on the menu, wine selection and attention from our team.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to 50 Bistro in to not too distant future.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your recommendation to other diners.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    50
    28
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good restaurant at the George Hotel.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Good quality of the food and service was good and although quite expensive it was was. Helper than the Hotels top restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phillip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Phillip E,

Thank you for your positive comments on the quality of food and service in 50 Bistro.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best breakfast!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had breakfast here on the morning of my birthday. The service is fantastic, almost like the staff can read your mind. They were attentive but not intrusive at all, and have my highest commendations. Everything was spotlessly clean, and the food was wonderful. Thank you!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank po_tds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Karen,

While we haven't employed mind readers we do try and train our staff to anticipate our guest's needs and I am glad that this was working well for you on the morning of your birthday.

Thank you for your kind comments.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Lunch to celebrate a birthday. Wanted something special and had been meaning to come here for awhile. Love the ambience, surroundings, comfortable cushy suits, service excellent but we got caught out by the small portions.. Presented reasonably nicely, but lukewarm scallop dish, and 3 scallops (tender as they were) just doesn't really cut it for $22.00. The others both had chicken schnitzel, portion size maybe 120gram.I think they may have had slightly better value for $22.00. The side dishes were delicious and enough to share amongst the three of us, thank goodness for them, otherwise we really would have left there feeling VERY hungry. Coffee was really good . . . one of the best I have had for awhile. Birthday cake from Just Desserts was waiting at home so no dessert order today.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pauaprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear pauaprincess,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your kind comments about our coffee, side dishes, ambience, surroundings and service.

We are very sorry that you did not feel your portion sizes represented value for money, we will certainly take your feedback into account when next changing our menu. It is always a difficult balance when we are using the best quality fresh ingredients, providing a high class environment along with experienced and well trained staff. Our approach is definitely quality over quantity. We do believe our prices and portions compare favourably with other good quality eating establishments both here in Christchurch and around New Zealand.

The scallop dish referred to is an entrée and definitely not designed to fill anyone up. The chicken schnitzel is on the light-meals section of the menu and again, not supposed to be a big meal. Our staff are more than happy to offer guidance on portion sizes, for example our beef burger or wild pork ragu pappardelle are both generous portions.

We do have an excellent value "nifty 50" lunch menu which consists of soup, bread and a choice of any of the light meals, for just $29.

For those with larger appetites, our grill menu would be more appropriate.

Then of course, if people are still hungry, they can always stay and order one of our fabulous desserts.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
442 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Ate at 50 Bistro on a Saturday night and were not disappointed. The service and food were really good. We both went for the Grill selection which we both thought was reasonable value for money. The quality of the produce used was great, particularly the steaks. Downside was the jus that came with both steaks although nice swamped the fantastically cooked steaks. Would have preferred it in a jug on the side so I could have chosen how much I wanted. Plus the wine list by the glass was pretty limited. I would definitely go again.

Helpful?
Thank TheSnakebite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Snakebite,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent dining experience with us. It's great that you enjoyed the quality of the produce, service, and value for money. We have passed on your comments regarding the jus to our chef for his consideration and will also look at our wine by-the-glass options.

We look forward to welcoming you back to 50 Bistro on a future occasion.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 50 Bistro also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to 50 Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing