We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curators House Christchurch -Paella”

Curator's House Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 991 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: SPANISH TAPAS - LAMB - PAELLA and more... in a heritage building in the Botanic Gardens. Drop in for casual tapas in the sun in summer, or beside the fireplace in winter. Or a special occasion or group function in one of our intimate dining rooms. Beautiful garden views. Stroll through our demonstration fruit and vege garden. All right in the heart of the Botanic Gardens in central Christchurch. Simply too special to miss. Open 7 days for lunch, dinner and tapas.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Curators House Christchurch -Paella”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We specifically wanted to dine in this restaurant because it serves one of my favourite dishes – Paella , which can be difficult to find in NZ. The menu states that we had to give prior notice so they could prepare the dish because of a 25 min cooking time . The dish was served on time and was delivered in a single traditional Spanish style pan and was piping hot. The first thing we noticed was the portion size was a little small for two people. We also noticed the dish was lacking some of the key ingredients , mainly chicken and vegetables . Half way through eating the meal we both knew something wasn’t quite right with the food. We figured out that the salt content was far to high and we had to drink a few glasses of water to wash the taste away. At $100 for two people i wont ever be returning to this restaurant in my life time. Such a big disappointment because they hyped up the menu but only served a below average Paella.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trevorlee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    119
    41
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“80th Birthday Luncheon”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This restaurant is situated in the Christchurch Botanical Gardens and so has a wonderfull location and outlook. It has a choice of 3 dining areas and the downstairs room we chose has a superb atmosphere. 21 people were at the luncheon and there was not one person who did not enjoy the meal or the setting The menu was excellent with a range of selections and the accompanying wine list had a great selection of drinks. The staff were excellent and provided a great service for the whole of the luncheon. It is a restaurant I hope to dine at on many more occaisions.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Cosy atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We went with a group of people and it was fantastic. The wines were great, the meals were superb and the staff were very welcoming.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

There are a group of 8 of us who go out regularly every month and it was our turn to book this month. We chose the Curator's House as we had not been there for several years and knew the new owner, so thought we would give them a go. We booked for 10 as two other friends expressed an interest. We went for the Paella evening (Friday). I must mention that I don't eat shell fish but I was able to choose something from the main menu. Great! We started with Tappas and Sangria which went down a treat and then the rather large dishes of Paella arrived. Not my scene but it looked and smelt delicious. My meal arrived and was ample and taste bud tantalising. At the end of the meal we were all full to the brim, so could not fit in a dessert but some had coffee. All in all a very good experience and would certainly go again to work our way through the menu of interesting dishes. Well Done

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tapas and Delicious Main course”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful meal here Sunday night. The gas fire and candles created a cosy atmosphere on a cold & dark night. We shared 3 tapas to start - the Garlic Prawns and Black pudding dishes were small tapas size but the tomato bread and chorizo was a larger dish and would have been enough on its own as a starter for the 2 of us. We both had the slow roasted shoulder of lamb and it was one of the best we've had!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Curator's House Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Curator's House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing