We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pizza and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Filadelfio's Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Filadelfio's Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good pizza and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have eaten here about 5 times over the years and have always enjoyed the food here. I have read some of the other comments and do agree it was a little chilly in the restaurant but we found the service and quality of the food to be good. It was a Monday night so was quiet but we were asked if everything was all right and the pizza was great. We went with a simple pepperoni and added New York sausage and the pizza was covered in both so 10/10 for toppings. I will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewNZ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    8
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband and I popped in for lunch on Saturday. The best part about our experience was the lemonade, lime and bitters drinks which were delicious! Our chicken pizza took 20 minutes to arrive, (which was odd as we were the only people in the restaurant). When it came it had a thick, stodgy base, was not very hot, and the flavour was really bland. My husband had BBQ sauce on his half of the pizza, but even that didn't help. We ate one slice each then paid the bill - when asked if we enjoyed our meal we told the waitress 'no' and gave her our reasons. She said it was a 'shame' and carried on! Our children could make better pizza at home - we will definitely not be returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brimax_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The pizza's here are really good, you get a decent size pizza and good toppings and plenty of flavour and quick service as well

The inside is OK but could do with some improvements, as when the weather is cold, it's cold inside there as well, so a little off putting.

They are not the cheapest pizza's around but you do get good quality ones.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise_H46H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I took my children here recently for a quick dinner out. The food was terrible. My pizza was burnt and tasted more like a piece of cardboard than a pizza. The children's meals were basically a bowl of fries with a couple of what appeared to look like Pam's frozen nuggets placed on top.
We walked out and left the meals. Will not go back again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chittyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sadly not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I have been 3 times since the new managers took over and it seemed ok first time, burnt pizza second time, this time luckily it wasn't our pizza that got burnt... Not sure the customer who received a scraped burnt pizza felt about it.... I had a very disappointing desert, lumpy custard surrounding soggy crumble :-(
I didn't actually complain so I don't know if the food would have improved. Pizza bases are good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank familyGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Filadelfio's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing