We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad!”

Fox & Ferret Public Ale House
Ranked #260 of 1,006 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: US$7 - US$22
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Occupying a sun drenched spot at The Palms Mall in Shirley, the Fox & Ferret is a modern gastro pub offering a wide selection of mouth watering light & main meals to suit all tastes, including the world famous Stonegrill menu and legendary sharing platters. We pride ourselves on offering some of the finest local and imported ales and head down on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday night for live music and entertainment.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not bad!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Went in for a couple stone grills as they were offering their 2 for 1 deal on the day. I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the cut of meat. I didn't finish the whole meal as it's fairly big, but it's a really good feed for the price. I liked the outdoor seating as it enabled my friend to still have his cheeky smoke while he had his beer.

They could improve their service, I find it a bit cold sometimes and they don't seem interested that you're coming in for a drink or a meal, a good smile and a greeting goes a long way!

Anywho, could have caught them on a bad day. Will be back! It's a great location next to the mall, movies and easy to find a park !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanterburyChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    29
    18
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Decidedly average”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Food is OK here and so were the drinks but the table was overly sticky which had an adverse affect on our dining experience. Staff were good but I'm unlikely to return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Always great”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Never disappoints, love the stone grill and staff are always friendly and efficient. Great entertainment, and good place to go to watch rugby or for a meal before movies

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Rude Matrie D/Waiter”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Walked in looking for a table for four was greeted by a rude Waiter/Matrie D who actually said "Well are you going to eat here or not" Was a bit shocked by this repsonse,As it was late had no choice but to dine here.Ordered steak, Instead of a piece of steak it was cut up into little pieces of multiple steaks.Pretty poor as the poor customer service set the tone for the whole evening

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MontyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenzigroup, Manager at Fox & Ferret Public Ale House, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Monty,
We sincerely apologise for the service you received here at the Fox and Ferret Shirley, this is definitely not the way you should have been greeted and we are sorry that it spoiled your visit. I'd like to be able to follow up with you about when you were in so that I can work out which staff members were working at the time and investigate this properly. I would really appreciate it if you could email me at palms@foxandferret.co.nz so that I can get to the bottom of what happened.
Thank you very much,
Manager
Fox and Ferret: The Palms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Dined here on a lunch time, ordered the Cajun chicken and my friend had the Caesar salad.

They arrived promptly and the service was very good, but the food lacked flavour and was just OK.

Wont hurry back

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise_H46H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fox & Ferret Public Ale House also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Fox & Ferret Public Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing