We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb find!”

Pegasus Arms Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #85 of 980 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Grill
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb find!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We went here on a Sunday evening for a quick bite and a drink. Driven past a few times and always looked nice. It was a little gem inside, lovely warm atmosphere, nice bar area and seperate room for dining. We chose the Sunday Cauvery which was the best Sunday lunch we have had, big portions and delicious food which had been freshly cooked. The service was faultless, very friendly waitress who couldn't do enough! We will definitely be back! Great value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank egyptmermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    67
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Birthday Celebrations”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Booked some outside tables for 15-20ppl and the day before my booking I got a courtesy call to confirm booking and also offered some inside tables to be reserved in case weather turned bad. We sat outside for most of night, had loads of room, great platters with a nice variety and good portions. Later into the night we were offered an area upstairs with some couches and tables as weather turned horrible. Service upstairs was just as good and atmosphere throughout the night was fantastic. I am a regular visitor but several of my friends had never been before, they are now converted. Thank you to all the staff for a great night, we will certainly be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lulub43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
372 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Good food, cosy atmosphere, slow service”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Had a good dinner here, but service was really slow. We were seated promptly and our orders were taken shortly thereafter, but our bruschetta appetizer didn't appear until almost a half hour later, and then we had a similar wait for our mains. Our server was apologizing to each table for the wait. However, the food was quite good, a rack of lamb with an excellent kumara side, and a lamb salad with roasted cherry tomatoes, balsamic-marinated strawberries and perfectly seasoned and cooked chunks of lamb.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seattle98101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Old fashioned pub with great food.”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We were only in Christchurch for 3 nights, but we ate there twice. Super rib-eye steak, and slow roast belly pork. Worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TimVenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
241 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“beer garden and nice restaurant”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Looks like an open café & beer garden but the best part is the cosy, nice restaurant. Small tables - watch your knees! - good choice of starters (I had the duck rolls, very good) and of mains, delicious and well presented desserts. Good value for money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alfonso p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pegasus Arms Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Pegasus Arms Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing