We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining experience at its best”
Review of Pescatore

Pescatore
Ranked #133 of 1,167 Restaurants in Christchurch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Pescatore, translating from Italian to ‘fisherman’, in recognition of the restaurant’s name and legacy, the new menu is predominately focused towards a seafood. Pescatore continues to offer an exciting dining concept, enhanced by its stunning interior which is sure to turn heads and rejuvenate guests’ longstanding love affair with this iconic Christchurch restaurant.
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Having eaten in many fine restaurants around the world, this is equal to if not better than the best we have ever experienced for service and food. The evolution Menu of some 10 courses is a dining experience not to be missed, with a superb selection of fine wines.
We arrived at our booking time of 7:30pm and left the restaurant at 11:45pm without realising where the time had gone. The staff were friendly and very helpful in explaining the different dishes.
Over all an excellent ding experience thoroughly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NZConsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear NZConsumer,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your recent dining experience in Pescatore. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Evolution menu and were able to relax and enjoy the dining experience as it is intended.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Pescatore on your next visit to Christchurch.

Thank you again for your positive feedback.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 137 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Excellent food. Well cooked and presented. Dining room is a little cold, clinical and functional. Excellent service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear AJCG,

Thank you for your comments and recommendation.

We are working on some initiatives to soften the dining room space which we hope to roll out in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is a decent restaurant but doesn't really meet the standards of fine dining we are used to in other parts of the world.It gas too many rather pretentious touches, from a semi-disguised entrance through the shot of foam offered before going to your table and dishes which would benefit from being scaled back to their basic good ingredients. Waiting staff are friendly but seem inexperienced and/or undertrained, for example with very limited knowledge of the wine list or wine service.

Thank Donaldswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Donaldswim,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We will certainly take your feedback on board as we constantly strive to offer a unique and special dining experience.

We have addressed the wine knowledge issue with our restaurant manager who will ensure all our team are adequately trained.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

After dining at this restaurant a couple of times post earthquake and being somewhat disappointed - it was great to see that this restaurant has picked up its act and is serving both great tasting and well presented food by staff who seem well tuned in to what they are doing. A bit pricey but would definitely come back again once the dent in my wallet is repaired.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jacqueline118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear jacqueline118,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and for your continued faith in trying us again. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent dining experience and we will continue to strive for perfection with our offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Pescatore on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Wonderful restaurant if you are looking for an intimate fine dining restaurant. Service is impeccable and the food is of a very high quality. Everything is beautifully presented.
Prices are high but that is to be expected for that standard.
You must try the Golden Sphere dessert - it is to die for. Best dessert I have ever eaten and is a credit to the French chef.
Will definitely go again

Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Marion C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent dining experience with us. The Golden Sphere is my favourite desert at the moment also but Remi, our pastry chef, is amazing and I can't wait to see what he comes up with next.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Pescatore.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pescatore also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Pescatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing