We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pescatore at The George - Stunning”
Review of Pescatore

Pescatore
Ranked #130 of 1,119 Restaurants in Christchurch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Pescatore, translating from Italian to ‘fisherman’, in recognition of the restaurant’s name and legacy, the new menu is predominately focused towards a seafood. Pescatore continues to offer an exciting dining concept, enhanced by its stunning interior which is sure to turn heads and rejuvenate guests’ longstanding love affair with this iconic Christchurch restaurant.
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had selected at booking the "middle menu" option - 5 courses with a choice from two entrées, two mains and two desserts. In all our party was lavished with 9 (that's right 9) individual courses. The offering was incredible. Packets of food that exploded with taste, de-constructed elements that somehow enhanced the original, and plate presentation each of which was a work of art.

Our group of 8 ranged in age from 23 to 84, and the brilliance of the menu catered for all. Dining at Pescatore was a wonder- filled experience heightened by the skill of the attentive wait staff.

Marvellous! Extraordinary value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Paul M

Thank you for your very positive comments regarding your recent dinner in Pescatore.

We are delighted you enjoyed the experience and that you were able to enjoy some additional courses to our Middle Menu. It is wonderful that you appreciated the flavours, techniques and presentation of Chef’s menu so much.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Pescatore on a future occasion.

Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 128 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were really impressed by our meal here. The staff (Hayley and Keith we think...) we're excellent, really knowledgeable of all options available (including the 15+ cheese options which were delish btw) and just the right level of attentiveness.
Being vegetarian I was presented with a whole menu of choices rather than just one or two options so I was very pleased. The food is fine modern dining and it was of a very high standard.
It's pricey but the whole experience is worth it. The only thing that could be added would be more art or decor to the main dining space to add some interest/ambience but that's a minor point. I'd highly recommend for a special occasion or a treat or just a splurge!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kagey002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Kagey002

Thank you for taking the time to post this review following your recent dining experience in Pescatore.

We are delighted that you enjoyed and appreciated our vegetarian menu and that the level of service you received from our team made an impression.

We are pleased to advise that we are currently working on some décor initiatives to soften the dining room space.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Pescatore on a future occasion.

Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I was lucky enough to be treated to an amazing night of fine dinning at Pescatore, what an experience!! I was surprised with two nights stay at The George, which is a beautiful place in itself, but to walk up the stairs and into the dinning room was beautiful, our waitress for the night Samantha was outstanding! we had the evolution menu with matching wine, each dish was faultless,....... well maybe the only fault is that i was struggling to eat it all! when I mentioned to Sam that I was struggling to get thur, she thoughtfully brought me out wee glasses of wine so I wouldnt miss out on the flavours!. We eat out a lot and this would have to be one of the best dinning experiences I have had in a very long time. Cant wait to go back!

Thank Ange B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Ange B

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful feedback following your recent birthday dinner celebration in Pescatore.

We are delighted that you enjoyed such a memorable experience with us and that our staff, in particular Sam, went the extra mile for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The George and Pescatore in the future.

Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Great food. We had a la carte but the chef also does a taster menu with accompanying wines. The food is beautifully presented and with some quirky ideas. It's great to see interesting as well as tasty food.

Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Jane A

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your meal in Pescatore.

We are delighted you enjoyed your dining experience and appreciated the creativeness our Chef displays with his menu.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Pescatore on a future occasion.

Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
The George, Christchurch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Starting with the difficulty of finding the entrance to this upper-floor of the George Hotel restaurant, dinner was a lot of fluff and not enough substance. There were limited fish options, surprising given the name of the restaurant. The server was earnest, but the servings were disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Metsfan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at Pescatore, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Metsfan08,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent dining experience with us. We are very sorry that the experience did not meet your expectations. We are currently looking into adding more seafood to our menu so hope to improve on this aspect. We will also review the portion sizes of our main offerings to ensure they offer enough substance.

We will never however be a "big portion" restaurant. Our focus is on using high quality products, bringing out their best both in flavour and presentation and delivering a dining experience over a number of courses, rather than trying to stuff our diners full with one course.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pescatore also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Pescatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing