We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Sala Sala Restaurant
Ranked #336 of 978 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: US$7 - US$29
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sala Sala has recently reopened under new management at 142 Papanui Road, Merivale Our new home is in a 2 store renovated house which provides a dining room on the ground floor as well as three dining rooms upstairs available for private dining or business meeting.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Went for the first time at the Papanui Rd location with 4 others. Had a set menu at the teppanyaki bar. The friends we were with are really into Japanese food! Must say that it was
nice food with attentive waitress's & chef's. Hadn't had this experience with Japanese food for a while. Not since 'Yamogen' in the Crowne Plaza Hotel which was munted in the earthquakes.
Will definitely go again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    11
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Minimalist? just about”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I'm always wary of Japanese restaurants. Yes, Japanese food is probably the healthiest, cleanest, neatest cuisine around, but being homest, I go to a restaurant to be fed. To banish hunger as well as savour the taste. Sala Sala comes close, but just not quite there. The food was delisious, but there just wasn't enough. It may sound a little grunt, but I needed more food. a starter of half a mushroon, one kumara chip, one potato chip and a prawn (all tempurs style) just didnt grab me. If the portions are gonna be that small then they better be exquisit. They were ok. The main did better thought. beautiful beef, an amazin scallop, and a decent salad with prawns. Service, as with all Japanese restaurants was prefect, prompt, clear and unobtrusive. If I want minimalist, I'll go to a modern art exhibition. When I return I'll go for the scallops, amazing! 6/10

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DarthFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No flip flops... ”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We came here from the main square in downtown. It's like a 25 min walk, and not the nicest one!

Just arrived we saw on the front door "no flip flops". We go in and the waitress told us that wouldn't be possible for us because of our flip flops.

Sorry but I forgot my Weston home... few thousands of kilometers away!

Helpful?
Thank gtagot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
167 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Superb and cheap sashimi!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We ordered the omakase sashimi to share and the portion was huge for $24! 16 pieces of fresh sashimi and a specially prepared appetizer! The teppanyaki dishes (beef+seafood and chicken and garlic rice) were also nicely done. Perhaps the only disappointment was the portion for the seafood which was rather small (1 prawn, 1 scallop, and 2 fish fillet). Service was friendly and fast.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mpenzakc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice Environment with Average Food”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

There is nothing bad to say about Sala Sala. The setting is a bit incongruous because the modern and chic interior is somehow at odds with the old villa in which the restaurant is situated. The service is polished and attentive, the food is reasonable and the dishes are priced to suit the quality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GallopingGourmet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sala Sala Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Sala Sala Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing