We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian cuisine near the University of Canterbury”
Review of Tandoori Palace

Tandoori Palace
Ranked #346 of 980 Restaurants in Christchurch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are an established Indian Restaurant situated at 71 Ilam Road – next to Canterbury University, in an old brick home converted into a contemporary 90 seater Indian Restaurant. We offer authentic Indian cuisine and cater for vegetarian and Jain. Our restaurant is an ideal location for groups up to 90 diners
Oregon
Level Contributor
210 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian cuisine near the University of Canterbury”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This Tandoori Palace is one branch of a small chain. The branch that was formerly in central Christchurch has closed. The restaurant has a small outdoor eating area and a larger indoor dining room. Service was good by Kiwi standards. The food was excellent.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    22
    10
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“need to live upto its reputation”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We went there for dinner with family and friends and had the entrees and mains which seemed average.I have tried their other restaurants in city centre,ferrymead,takeaways in papanui(best bhuna chk ever tried in new zealand) but this one the food was mediocre and on top of it the duty manager was arrogant

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kwaisunyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Delicious. Makes you feel home. and i guess the Kiwis love Butter Chicken.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank puneetpjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant experience in NZ”
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Me and my husband made the mistake of eating here during our short stay in Christchurch where not knowing the area we quickly noticed this place on the main square and decided to eat there. The first thing I noticed is that it shares the same entrance as the Backpacker lodging which meant that people were constantly going in and out the door and hanging around outside. When we went into the restaurant we were greeted by what looked like the owner who didnt even crack a smile. We sat at a window waiting to be served. The restaurant was very cold and I noticed that a lot of the customers seemed to be sitting in their coats. As time went on this became a problem because we were uncomfortably cold. After taking our order we sat in the cold room for what seemed like ages until the owner seemed to notice that we were getting rather fed up. I actually think they forgot our order because although he came over to say it would only be another few minutes we were still kept waiting for ages. Finally when the food did come out we had to wait another 15 mins for the rice so we couldnt even start eating. The food was unsurprisingly poor and seemed to be loaded with salt, so neither me or my husband ate much of it. By this point we just wanted to leave. This was the worst dining experience we had on our holiday. I urge any sane person not to eat here.

Awful food, awful service, awful location.

Helpful?
Thank soosiesoosoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“fanatastic food”
Reviewed 8 January 2008

fanatastic food

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Tandoori Palace also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Tandoori Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing