We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed ”

The Bog Irish Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #62 of 980 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Christchurch
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed ”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I have eaten at the bog a few times and enjoyed what I ordered. Last night I ordered the warm turf salad which I have had before and loved. However last night it was less than average - no pumpkin, no feta just a pile of lettuce some chickpeas and about five pieces of undercooked parsnip......disappointed to say the least.

Helpful?
1 Thank Denrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    100
    31
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic food, amazing service and a great atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

fantastic wine list, huge selection of beers, fantastic menu, close to accommodation, casino. Really reasonable prices. great décor and a brand new building.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not bad - but not great”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I don't have anything bad to say about the pub. It's a typical "wannabe" Irish bar that is trying to yearn for the old country but not quite making the mark. The prices for a beer are quite high and start at $10 for what was not a particularly good point. The food was average but the waitress took away my plate before I had finished. I came here wanting a bit of Irish music, the band was Ok but it was an mix of anything but Irish music. There wasn't much of an atmosphere in here

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeightonAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A pub pretending to be irish”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Normally I like Irish pubs but this one has no atmosphere. They seemed to have collected all of the dirge music and played it for me. Plus the tap beer was woeful, forcing me to drink a $15 bottle of beer of a brand that has been bought out by a big brewer and I now know to have been corrupted. Not returning.

Helpful?
Thank NZBeerMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good live music”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Called in for a drink and they had a chap singing and playing his guitar for a couple of hours. The atmosphere was wonderful and everyone appeared to be enjoying it. It was so enjoyable we decided to eat there also. I had lamb shank and colcannon mash whilst my husband had steak and Guinness pie. Only thing he said was "why did they serve it with garlic bread? Should have been Irish soda bread or something! Despite that they were both excellent.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bog Irish Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Bog Irish Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing