We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local place”

Trevinos Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #137 of 991 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: US$6 - US$27
Cuisines: Mediterranean, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Trevinos is a upmarket contemporary restaurant specializing in Mediterrean cuisine open 7 days for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner. Patrons can chose from our formal seated restaurant, al fresco dining or casual dining in large adjoining bar area. Trevinos has a sunny north facing aspect with ample onsite parking. Conveniently located close to Hagley Park. Live Music Friday nights, Big screen TV, Conference facilities, Gaming Lounge and Accommodation adjacent.
Hugo, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great local place”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was a great place to hang with the locals. The outside dining was nice and the food was good. I would recommend this place for a happy hour hangout instead of a dining experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 7wonderstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomi P, Owner at Trevinos Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Trevinos. Trevinos Restaurant & Bar has a large outdoor courtyard with gas fires in a garden setting. Just great for drinks with friends, or move into our bar area with couches, gas fires, bar leaners, wonderful bar atmosphere. We also have a large dining area with booths for that intimate dining experience. It is popular with the locals and Friday nights are huge with drink specials from 5pm and live music till the wee hours of Saturday morning - a great way to start the weekend. To compliment your drinks, we offer Tapas, Bar Snacks, Pizzas or our full a la carte menu - seven days a week all day every day. We also have a private function room if you wanted to celebrate a special occasion.
We will be delighted to host you at any time, and guarantee excellent hospitality.
Trevinos offers Great Food, Great Wine & Great Times - Looking forward to hosting you again soon at Trevinos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    105
    43
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Don't eat in the bar!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I was a bit dubious about eating here, given some of the other reviews. And I was right to be so.
We didn't book, and so were offered a place in the bar. This seemed ok, there were two tables with a couple and a group dinning, so we took a table. The very freindly hostess took our drinks order, and we looked over the menu. It was a little pricy, but we decided on our meals, and placed the order.
Then it went backwards. A group of people arrived who had been to some sports occasion. They were dominated by a loud drunken oaf, who proceeded to rant at the top of his voice, swearing and being generally obnoxious. If we hadn't already placed our order, we would have left.
The meals arrived, and we rushed them down. The meals were nice enough, but the value was destroyed by the loudmouth.
So if you are offered a table in the bar. DON'T take it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiBobCambodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomi P, Owner at Trevinos Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Restaurant & Bar. Trevinos is a very busy upmarket Restaurant & Bar that does take bookings for dining. We do try to accommodate walk-ins as well.
People enjoy dining in our bar with the vibrant scene and ambience, makes it a busy , lively place.
We are sorry that your night was marred by other guests being vocal, perhaps it was a Crusaders game on the big screen and our loyal Cantabrian's were supporting their team or we get a lot of people from Hagley Park back after their team`s efforts on the fields. We support sport in our city and welcome people to enjoy a drink at our premises. I am pleased you enjoyed the food and service. Our staff want you to have a fantastic time, every time
We welcome you to come back and enjoy your next meal at Trevinos. Make sure to book in advance and request a quiet table away from the bar. You wont be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

It was a nice place unfortunately the floor was with a bit of a slope. The service was normal, it was quite busy with 3 large groups, they forgot to bring drinks to a few different people on our table.
When I finally got my food it looked amazing but unfortunately I found a hair in my food!
The waitress offered me a free dessert.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A little late at writing this review but I still had to do it. Ate here last month the service was fantastic, food was absolutely delicious and great ambience and live music ( which was a little bit too loud) , great size meals at a decent price. I'd definitely go dine at Trevinos again. Thank you team for a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vinita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomi P, Owner at Trevinos Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Vinita
Many thanks for reviewing Trevinos. Thank you for your lovely comments. The team at Trevinos works very hard to offer great hospitality to all our customers. We love entertaining you all and look forward to having you back soon. Stay with us next time, at Christchurch City Park Motels
Cheers and vinos from the team at Trevinos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average all round!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This establishment needs to work out whether it is a rowdy sports bar, or a restaurant. Currently it fails as one or the other of these options. Noisy, with average food, probably not somewhere we would go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomi P, Owner at Trevinos Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi Patrick F
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trevinos. We are supporters of many sports groups as well as the Crusaders Rugby team in Canterbury. Trevinos is the place where the locals come in to have a meal prior to going to the stadium to watch the time live or they dine and watch the game on the big screens. The restaurant is on the other side of the big screens with some of the booths quite quiet. I am sorry you were in a noisy position but our supporters were most probably cheering our team on.
If you had of chosen to dine at Trevinos the night New Zealand won the World Cup in 2011. It was pure magic. It was very noisy. We only have the big games on the TVs, we are not a Sports Bar, but a place where you can dine and watch the game in a friendly environment
We look forward to hosting you again soon at Trevinos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trevinos Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Trevinos Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing