We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne Visitor Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airport Delta Motel
Ranked #29 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel and it was ideal .
Kitchenette ,spacious rooms, heated floor and bath towels with a room heater that was easily regulated made for a very pleasant stay.
The city bus where you can pay cash for a ticket ( you can't in Melbourne) outside the motel was a bonus and you get to see the real people who we found very friendly and courteous .
I wish the Melbourne commuters thanked our bus drivers like we witnessed in Christchurch.
The Avonhead Shopping centre was a short walk away .
Quiet area ,ample parking and the shuttle to the airport were all noted.
The Airport Christchurch Motel is on the same site and looked just as good but I liked the big bedroom room in the Delta section.
I would recommend these motels and would use them again.

Room Tip: Downstairs request if stairs and luggage are not your thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa E, Manager at Airport Delta Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for such a thorough review! Yes, our local bus service we believe is fabulous. We are within walking distance of three different services that will all get you to the city centre. A local tip - you can use your same ticket for your return journey if you are coming back within a few hours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at this motel on our Inward and Outward journey of New Zealand's South Island. The family run motel was excellent. Near enough to the airport so at not to rush there or back for the return flight but far enough away from the noise and hustle and bustle of the airport.
Breakfast has to be booked separately, but is delivered freshly cooked to your room.
The motel has a free courtesy mini bus to and from the airport.

Room Tip: Easy access to Christchurch airport ( I actually walked there and back just for something to do). T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidandYvonne1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa E, Manager at Airport Delta Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Like yourself, a lot of guests are surprised by how quiet our units are. We are only 2.2kms from Christchurch International Airport and Memorial Avenue, the main thoroughfare to the airport. After business hours Roydvale Avenue has very little road traffic and what there is is blocked out with our double-glazing. We are pleased you chose to stay with us on both ends of your journey and look forward to welcome you back to Christchurch in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

heated floor...oh my!
comfortable bed
great location
accommodating staff
only one minor problem, i requested a twin room and ended up with a king bed instead of 2 x king singles. my weird teenager refused to share the bed with me and slept on the couch instead.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenpotter28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa E, Manager at Airport Delta Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Indeed you did book a twin room and the room that you stayed in generally has two single beds in it. Regrettably our housekeeping staff had missed 'splitting' the bed for you. If we had been made aware as soon as you checked in we could have rectified the problem immediately. We would hate to think that a 'weird' teenager would have to share a bed with her mother :) Oh, I remember those days! We look forward to welcoming you both back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed at the Airport Delta on the way out of Christchurch. Very clean and comfortable. Heated floor in the bathroom was very nice in the middle of the night. Bus stop to Christchurch centre right out the front Bus no 17 takes you to central station. Five minute drive to the airport. Lovely cafe around the corner for a coffee. No airport noise either. Owners very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom unit. Small complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa E, Manager at Airport Delta Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

We are very pleased to hear that you found our rooms, 'clean and comfortable' and that like many of our guests you enjoyed our heated floor tiles (as we do too). We are very lucky to have the wee cafe within walking distance. When you are next with us you could try walking in the other direction as there are two more fabulous cafes open for breakfast and lunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The location is just down the road from the airport and the rooms are warm and very clean. We arrived late and were given very easy specific instructions for check-in. The following morning the Manager was very helpful with directions to Mt Cook. We stayed here on our last night and he was equally helpful with suggestions for restaurants, even checking reviews of a couple others had suggested to us. Couldn't go wrong.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa E, Manager at Airport Delta Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Yes, Michael has fantastic local knowledge and always enjoys assisting guests with their onward journey. It's great when we have guests stay at both ends of their trip and we get to hear how they enjoyed all of the recommendations. We do hope that you got a lovely clear day at Mt Cook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

An excellent choice. Close to the airport, very easy to find and in a quiet position on a bus route to the city centre. We stayed at the beginnig and the end of our holiday. Rooms were clean, well designed, functional and well equipped. WIFI provided. The beds were comfortable and the kitchenette was most useful. Garden space was lovely. The service was efficient and friendly. We would look no further, should we pass this way again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trewls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa E, Manager at Airport Delta Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

We are pleased that you found our motel 'very easy to find and in a quiet position on a bus route to the city centre'. Our guests are often surprised at how quiet our units are despite being so close to an international airport. We are within walking distance of three major bus routes all of which can take you to the city (they will even bring you back on the same ticket if you are returning in a few hours). Thank you for the review and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Location is good and us 5 mins from the airport and about 10 from the city centre. Despite the proximity to the airport it is nice and quiet. Rooms were clean and tidy with all the facilities you would need. There is also on site laundry. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexfromuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa E, Manager at Airport Delta Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

We are pleased to hear that you found our motel, "exactly as it is described". We must be doing something right! Thank you for taking the time to write this review. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.6 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
2 mi away
Airways Motel
Airways Motel
#17 of 146 in Christchurch
449 reviews
0 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 146 in Christchurch
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Delta Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Delta Motel

Address: 61 Roydvale Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#21 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#22 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#24 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £80 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airport Delta Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished, Airport Delta is now in the Trip Advisor Hall of Fame as well as being Qualmark 4.5 star certified and an evniro award winner. We are three minutes from Christchurh Airport by our courtesy shuttle (see our listing for details) or only 10 minutes from the city centre. We are proud to offer the highest standards in contemporary accommodation with a selection of Studio, 1,2, 3 and 4 bedroom units at an affordable price. Standard features include FREE wiifi, king-size or twin pillow-top beds, kitchens, iPod docks, flat-screen TVs with SKY TV, direct-dial telephones, irons/ironing boards, hairdryers, laundry with FREE washing machine, FREE newspapers, cots and highchairs, plunger coffee with fresh milk and FREE NZ made Wittakers Chocolates. All of our units offer superior warmth with double-glazing, electric heaters, under-floor heating and electric blankets. Our downstairs units offer a private courtyard and all units have their own outdoor settings in which to enjoy the morning sun. Our breakfast menu consists of either continental or free-range cooked and is delivered right to your room. Don't forget to order your locally roasted espresso coffee! If you prefer to eat out we are within walking distance from the Preservatory Cafe on Sir William Pickering Drive, Untouched World, Sevanti Restaurant or the fabulous Terra Viva Cafe and Garden Centre. If you prefer a quick take-away there are many options including of course McDonalds and Hells Pizza. PARK & FLY with us to take advantage of our FREE car storage. With a bus stop at the door we are ideally placed for transport to Riccarton Westfield, Sumner beach or Northlands Mall. Whether you want to visit local attractions such as The Antarctic Centre, Nunweek Park, Bishopdale YMCA, Burnside Park, Hinton's Vineyard, Jellie Park or head into the city to see Christchurch's new Re:START container mall, New Regent Street, Cathederal Square or Cardboard Cathederal your hosts, Michael and Lisa have a wealth of knowledge on local attractions and will enjoy helping you to arrange your Christchurch visit and onward journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Airport Delta Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Delta Hotel Christchurch
Delta Christchurch
Christchurch Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing