We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nobanno

Nobanno
Ranked #4 of 968 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Amazing food and amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Wonderful, multilayered flavors with vegetarian options. The host was informative and attentive. I really appreciated the unique, fragrant spices which were flavorful although not hot.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelW12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    91
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service. Authentic Bangladeshi cuisine ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Having visited Nobanno at its previous location in Armagh street in Christchurch prior to the earthquakes, we knew we were in for a treat.
Have been twice previously a la carte
I enjoyed the unique Bangladeshi flavours

Tonight we got to dine with friends and colleagues (20 people) and tried the Banquet, it was fantastic
I highly recommend others to try it.
The owner personally explains all the meals and flavours and they pride themselves on their
Fresh aromatic flavours and faultless service

The Marigold chicken and Lamb special were the standout dishes for me and most others

Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Food was amazing - probably unique in Christchurch as well. I had the signature curry. The host was lovely; really attentive and clearly very passionate about his restaurant. He even brought us some complimentary starters which were really tasty. It was a very quiet Wednesday evening - the never-ending construction works on the bridge out the front have probably not helped the place - but I expect weekend nights are much busier. Good place for large groups. Definitely recommend. I will certainly be returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Terrance_Lucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow.... Found a new favourite ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Dined here after seeing a friend's review on trip advisor!
What a find!
One of the best meals I've ever had so full of flavours. 3 of us had the lamb special and one has lamb shank.
Wait staff were awesome and attentive.

Can't wait to return to try something different.

Helpful?
Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Lovely fresh ingredients, sauces made with fresh herbs and vegetables, seafood fresh and succulent, naans tasty, light and well presented.
Excellent service throughout evening.
Large quantities, well priced. Takeaway option also

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nobanno also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Nobanno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing