We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Bengal - I'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nobanno

Nobanno
Ranked #4 of 968 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Taste of Bengal - I'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

From the moment we walked in the staff were attentive, welcoming us with an explanation of the difference between their food and Indian food. It made my mouth water even at that stage, and when the food came we were all blown away. We went for the specials which were exquisitly flavoured.

Special features:
- The different flavoured rice bowls
- gluten free naan
- the mango dessert

It was a birthday celebration - and at the end the owner turned up with a small gift wrapped box of chocolates. A real treat all round.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onerosenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    91
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My favourite thing about Nobanno is the staff's willingness to cater for any allergies or diet preferences. The food is absolutely amazing and the service is the best I've had.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tessastarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N/E England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A dining experience to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Ambience, great service, and the food was to die for, I reiterate what many of your reviewers have stated, this has got to be one of the best curries (and not a chilli in sight) that I ,and I can speak for my fellow diners, have ever had.
Attention to detail unbelievable , the owner and his staff all so passionate about their restaurant and its food. Nothing was too much trouble.
An excellent choice of wines , of which the owner is very knowledgeable. What a wonderful evening

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WendyJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyttelton, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The food was delicious, the flavours aromatic and healthy just as promised. We had gone once when they were in town, and enjoyed it. We are glad that they have now moved to Ferrymead as it is that much closer to us. The staff are incredible, so kind, accommodating and passionate about what they do.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenLouK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unusual Subtle flavours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We really enjoyed our dining experience here. The fresh subtle flavours were different to those found in Indian restaurants. The host was passionate about his food and the staff very welcoming. After a beautiful meal we were treated to a dessert on the house which was much appreciated. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone interested in good food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nobanno also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Nobanno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing