We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average burger joint if thats what you want”
Review of The Grand Cafe

The Grand Cafe
Ranked #544 of 974 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: US$36 - US$100
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average burger joint if thats what you want”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had vistsd there on many occasions but when we returned recently it was just plain tacky the feel of the place was just plain confusing. What are they trying to be as part of the casino. A chippy a mac donalds. Honestly between the tacky environment staff who where even more confused than I the long wait for food on par with a back street burger bar try somewhere else. Used to be a wonderful place to celebrate an occasion. Not now

Helpful?
1 Thank rodneyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    38
    28
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Poor service, poor value, poor attitude.”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Tired and weary from travelling, we decided to take the easy option for dinner and go to the nearest restaurant to our motel, the Grand Café at the Casino. Big mistake! The service was appallingly slow - it took 65 minutes to serve two courses; people who came in after us had finished two course before we had even been served our second and the quality of the food was so average that we ate just over half of our main course only. Our complaints were met with excuses from management, who maintained that the service we had received was perfectly reasonable. They refused to reduce the bill or take off the wine, etc. After twenty minutes of trying to reason with them, they finally agreed to accept the reduced amount we offered and we left - 1hr. 50 mns after we arrived!

Do not even think of dining here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
258 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“"Fine Dining" an oxymoron”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We found ourselves in need of a dinner booking in the city after a presentation that was to finish at 8.00pm, and choose the nearby Casino, listed under the "fine dining" category in the local promotions book. When we presented ourselves at the Grand Cafe, we were seriously over-dressed, among a scattering of diners on a Tuesday night. Even the staff were sloppy in bush shirts, part of the decor theme for a Montheiths' Festival - the designer should be sacked. Fake chandeliers do not go with possum skins.
The food was dreadful. Mde had king prawns that were dry, tough, tasteless and cold, with a rough, green salad, and cold french fries. I had a venison stew. This was a rich black with a large dollop of mash and three mini dumplings. The meat was dry, chewy and cold. It was a dreary meal on a dreary winter's night in a deary setting (a pegged clothes line of tatty Montheith tee-shirts, for goodness sake!).
To be fair, it's a tough call to operate a virtually 18 hour opening eatery. I have had some good visits with business breakfast groups when the place was busy and humming. Also, to be fair, when Mde complained about her prawns, the waitress said "never mind" and then proceeded to deduct the cost of her glass of wine from the bill. It was the correct action to take. Thank you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_rua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“High Tea”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We went to the Christchurch Casino for High Tea for my sisters birthday. The atmosphere was lovely and the she was given a large bottle of wine for her birthday. The food was brought to us in good time and there were many choices. Although the food was nice you could tell it wasn't freshly made. In saying that though, the staff were lovely and attentive. It is a shame that the dress code has slipped so much - it used to be nice to have to dress up to get in, now it seems they accept just about anybody.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Low quality food - burgers and fries”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

All you can eat burgers - low quality burgers, certainly not an experience you would expect in a casino.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caleb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grand Cafe also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Grand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing