We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home and MORE!”
Review of Milano Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Milano Motor Lodge
Ranked #55 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The Milano is our motel of choice each time we travel to Christchurch. Our hosts, Jocelyn and Murray,are always on hand to provide a personalised service for their long established clientele.
We especially appreciate the flexibility of arrangements when travelling later in the day and the cheery welcome upon arrival. Milano is well appointed, near to great shopping and restaurants,whilst maintaining peaceful surroundings for guests. Service is prompt and efficient and the owners have a wealth of knowledge about attractions on offer in Christchurch.
The rooms are spacious,tastefully decorated and very comfortable. There have been times we have used the Milano for family occasions to attend weddings and funerals and our extended family have all received the same attention to detail that these occasions demand. We cannot recommend the Milano staff's professionalism and caring highly enough at these times.
Milano is always booked and we often book well in advance for our planned travel. It is a place well worth visiting and experiencing for yourself.
Sue and John Jensen

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you for your very encouraging review. We always look forward to you staying and it is a pleasure for us to be of service to you. Guests such as yourselves enhance motelling for us and make it a pleasure to be here. - Best wishes Jocelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

Arriving in Christchurch sans reservations, we cruised down Papanui Road looking at accommodation that might be a good place to stay. After trying a couple of places, we came across 'Milano' and so we drove up to reception and inquired about rooms and rates.

We were shown a very nice unit and made a decision on the spot. Spacious, warm, very comfortable beds, a microwave for the quick meal and close to Merivale Mall and restaurants.

Yes, it's a good place to stay if you want a good night's sleep.

REVIEW
Rates: $179 per night for two.

UPSIDE
Clean, very warm, very well built, close to Merivale Mall

DOWNSIDE
Too many stick on labels on lights and plugs that say "SWITCH OFF" You are giving me a complex.

Like many modern motels, there is an emphasis on the trivial, such as advertising a "Spa bathroom". Sorry, but I could care less about a spa bath and would much prefer a good shower over a spa bath that I had to stand in to have a shower.

COULD DO BETTER DEPARTMENT
Get rid of the stickers on every light switch and plug. I get the message, I get the message, I get the message....................

And when I am talking with you in reception and your phone rings, by all means answer it, but don't let that person take over. You allowed the caller to take preference while leaving me standing around.

Deal with the client you have in front of you and ask the caller to wait. Simple courtesy.

WOULD WE RETURN
Yes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our complex we are pleased some things were satisfactory and you would return.

With regards to the "Switch Off" signs we are sorry they offended you but not all people are as cautious with saving energy as you obviously are and we do this in line with our Conservation policy following Qualmark guidelines. Every little bit helps.

We were aware that you would have preferred a unit without a spa but unfortunately we only had two units available the day you arrived. The reason that spa units an other extras are advertised is that some people do prefer them and need to be able to locate something that satisfied their needs.

Being on my own the day you arrived I was very much aware when the phone rang that I had a problem which was why I asked if it was alright to answer the call, the person was phoning from hospital requiring urgent accommodation. I did put the call on hold and personally took you to the unit for you to inspect it as it was different from what you were looking for - to see if it suited and returned to the office and dealt with the caller. I also thanked you when you came back to the office. So my apologies if you felt I didn't give you simple courtesy. Maybe under different circumstances I will be able to show you the courtesy that all guests deserve and I apologise for not meeting your expectations. - Jocelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Milano Motor Lodge. It was easy to check in, the room was clean and there was available parking. It is located close to a great big park and near the center of town. With limited options for accommodation in Christchurch, be sure to book early. It was sold out for a number of days on either side of our reservation.

It is really annoying that these reviews have to be at least 200 words. It is really annoying that these reviews have to be at least 200 words. It is really annoying that these reviews have to be at least 200 words. It is really annoying that these reviews have to be at least 200 words.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bize_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Thank your for taking the time to review our complex, we do appreciate it and enjoyed having you stay with us, we have been very busy this past summer but were pleased to be able to accommodate you for some of the nights you wanted. Trust you enjoyed your stay in Christchurch, we are very positive about our future and hope you return!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The reservation process had been very helpful, and so I was expecting a slightly warmer welcome than received. That being said, the room and amenities were of a very good standard. Comfortable and clean. We had a one bedroom suite with a spa bath. There was plenty of room for our family to fit in. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you for your complimentary comments. Not sure why you felt our welcome wasn't warmer but can assure you that all our guests are very really important to us and we do value their comments. Keeps us on our toes. Hopefully we can meet your expectations next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We spent our first night in NZ here after 34 hours of travel. It was a very pleasant spot for transitioning into our vacation. Location is really convenient; easy walk downtown. Cafe Metro nearby was a great introduction to fabulous NZ coffees. We had no complaints about our lodging and would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The rooms farthest from the road are probably the quietest.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank flex_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

We were really glad you were able to relax and enjoy our complex and location before starting on your NZ holiday and appreciate you taking the time to review us. Metro Cafe is an amazing place for coffee /food and continues to win our guests approval during their stay in Christchurch. - Thanks Jocelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We (two couples visiting from the USA) spent four nights at the Milano Motor Lodge, hosted by Jocelyn and Murray, and they couldn't have been more kind and helpful. The rooms were spotless and spacious. We were provided with fresh linens daily; newspaper at your door every morning; kitchen fully stocked with dishes, glasses and cutlery and supplies to wash up with; use of the clothes line after doing your laundry; and the list goes on. We would highly recommend the motel and couldn't fault it. As another reviewer has noted, it is an easy walk to Hagley Park, the Botanical Garden, Canterbury Museum, an iSite office, and coach tours to explore the area. Thanks for a wonderful stay! Cilla J

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms obviously have easy access if you have heavy luggage. Any of their rooms would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cillaj48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

We were pleased you had a good stay in Christchurch and were happy with us. We had looked forward to your arrival following our emails prior to your visit. People like the four of you make it such a pleasure to be a motellier and we thorough enjoyed your company. Trust you had a safe journey home and continue to blog about New Zealand. Loved the fishing stories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Wonderful hosts accommodated us arriving before the usual afternoon check in time. Room was small but well appointed and very quiet. There was no traffic noise even though the motel is situated on a busy road. Gardens are beautiful and and well maintained. The motel is situated close to a nice shopping centre/mall and a choice of number of nice restaurants. The hosts have thought of everything required in the room, right down to sweets and chocolate. Great to be able to connect to internet without any hassells and charges. Great parking within the motel grounds.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our business, it does help us focus on what our guests want. We were sorry we didn't have a larger room for you but next time hopefully we can allocate one of our larger studios but were happy to give you an earlier check in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#42 of 146 in Christchurch
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Camelot Motor Lodge
Camelot Motor Lodge
#64 of 146 in Christchurch
406 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 138 in Christchurch
868 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milano Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milano Motor Lodge

Address: 87 Papanui Road | Merivale 8014, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £68 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Milano Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly rated 4 star plus complex. Great location, Great service, Free WiFi, close to City Centre. Recently updated, modern and comfortable accommodation. Short walk to Merivale Mall,boutique shops. Great selection of retaurants. Walk to city centre, Hagley Park Botanical Gardens, Museum and Restart City Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Milano Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing