We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If the roses arent worth it the rooms are”
Review of Milano Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Milano Motor Lodge
Ranked #50 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If the roses arent worth it the rooms are”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel is beautiful, the location is fantastic right near shops, restaurants and the centre of town. Free DVD's to keep you entertained and the place is really clean. They even help with scales for weighing your bags before heading to the airport!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thanks for writing the review we do appreciate them and also enjoyed your family group staying with us. Our location is a plus especially as the city rebuilds as most things are located handy in Merivale. We'd love to host you and your family again. Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    26
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
29
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I have been staying at Milano for numerous years and don't intend to change while Jocelyn and Murry are here. It is nice to know that in the Winter the unit will be lovely and cosy. The units are of a nice decor, Spotless and good quality linen.
Jocelyn and Murry make you feel wellcome but aren't intrusive. Last trip my car battery was flat and Jocely dropped me to my first appointment and then attended to the AA servicemen. Nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosebud53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thanks for the review, our regular corporates are very important to us and we appreciate the loyalty. All our guests enhance our lives and increase our knowledge of not only NZ but other parts of the world as well and we really enjoy it. - Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I like many others worldwide like to know what I am getting for my accommodation dollar. My wife and I have stayed at MILANO for some years now, and its always the same...spotlessly clean.. well serviced...with a comfortable bed and a quiet nights sleep due to its construction and location....Thus our five star rating. You wont be disappointed no matter where you come from in the world. Papanui Road is quiet, yet close to the city center....and a short hop to the airport.

We have in earlier years stayed in older Bealey Ave motels ( not far away)..however moved years ago due to traffic noise and older motels...So there you have it folks..my first trip advisor contribution....Have a good holiday. PS the owners are open and honest as well.! Rob S...Kerikeri New Zealand.

Room Tip: Woops..There is no restaurant however the system did not permit me to make a correction...food of al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano2006, Manager at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Nothing better for us than repeat business and we enjoy catching up with you when you are in town. Thank you for taking the time to review us, we look forward to your next visit - All the best for 2014, Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Canterbury, NZ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Very nice motel. The welcome from the lady at the front desk was excellent. Had a 1 bedroom with spa unit upstairs. This unit was excellent, very clean and lovely furniture. There was a nice touch with some welcome lollies and biscuits. Thank you for a great a great two night stay.

Room Tip: We had a spa unit upstairs and this was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tui3560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
So pleased you had a great stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review our complex - it enables us to know what our guests like and is very encouraging for our staff who work extremely hard to do a meticulous job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I have never reviewed a property however feel that Milano Motor Lodge are worthly of a mention.
I stayed at the lodge for 4 nights in August.
Jocelyn was very welcoming, friendly and very helpful - a great hostess.
The rooms were very comfortable, the beds very soft and lovely, and even some good quality plunger coffee - perfect!!
It's in a great location with great restaurants and cafes near by.
There is free high speed internet access which is good for business travellers.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our motel complex and thank you for your comments. Hopefully we can host you again in the future. Our new Wifi cabling has enabled us to give a much better service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here one night in June. It was very clean and tidy. Lovely big beds. Heating was quite noisy, would be fantastic to have a heat pump instead of a current heating system.Room rate was probably top end. Jocelyn was very helpful. Couple good cafes nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeeAaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property - always helpful and we do listen. We have looked at heat pumps in the past but as they weren't installed when the complex was built it is difficult to do it now. What we have done since your review is to book a serviceman to check them all to see if they are running correctly. Not all heaters here are the same and we don't know which unit you were in - which is why we are checking them all. Our units are very well insulated and retain their heat so are warm. Kind regards Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

After all that Christchurch residents have been through, Jocelyn and Murray have not lost the ability to go out of their way to help their guests. The rooms at Milano Motor Lodge are superb and the location is perfect, but the best part of staying is the SERVICE. Heaters were turned on before I arrived which made the arrival cosy and the FREE internet is that little touch that makes the difference.

Room Tip: Ask about joining the Milano Motor Lodge HOST free bonus program.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardJ020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thank you so much for your very complimentary review, good or bad we always appreciate the time people take to do this. We hope you will continue to use the Host Accommodation bonus system as it does work extremely well for people. It was a pleasure to be your hosts and we hope you will return some time in the future. - Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#30 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#61 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#38 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot Motor Lodge
Camelot Motor Lodge
#54 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tudor Court Motel
Tudor Court Motel
#66 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milano Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milano Motor Lodge

Property: Milano Motor Lodge
Address: 87 Papanui Road | Merivale 8014, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Milano Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly rated 4 star plus complex. Great location, Great service, Free WiFi, close to City Centre. Recently updated, modern and comfortable accommodation. Short walk to Merivale Mall,boutique shops. Great selection of retaurants. Walk to city centre, Hagley Park Botanical Gardens, Museum and Restart City Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Milano Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing