We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Fitzroy Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband & I stayed here for 2 nights. Clean, comfortable, well appointed self contained one bedroom apartment. Furnishings were perhaps a little tired. Free secure parking. Helpful staff with good local knowledge. $10 for good wifi over our 2 night stay. Easy walking distance to most attractions. Apartment also had washing machine & dryer in the large bathroom. We had a balcony that overlooked a building site. Our apartment 4J, was very quiet except for the building noise that started each morning at 0700. But this is Christchurch & there is a huge amount of rebuilding taking place since the earthquake. I doubt there are many places in Christchurch where you won't be disturbed by building noise. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed for 1 night. Booked the night before. Central location. Very friendly and helpful reception. Rooms very comfortable. Living room with Sky TV, managed to watch Man City v Barcelona in the morning and allowed a late check-out to accommodate the final whistle!

Laundry service in the bathroom, which was very clean.

Bed - very comfortable.

Wi-Fi - $10 for 24 hours.

In summary, I very much enjoyed my one night stay here. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoegazer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

An absolute mistake booking into these apartments. From the outside it looks new and modern but inside the apartment was a different story. We had asked for a roll away bed (and extra $30 a night on top of the $150 p/n) which wasn't there. When we called housekeeping she wheeled it in - threw the bedding on the floor and left (didn't make it up). The 'lounge' was so small we had to move the coffee table and an arm chair outside to fit the bed in! The place was filty and smelt musty. The shower was covered in mould and the exaust fan was putrid. The curtains were also covered in mould and the kitchen cupboards were streaky with filth. Paint was peeling off all through the apartment and the dryer didn't work unless you held it shut! Everything in the apartment was dated and dirty. Energy saving lights didn't help the already dark and dingy apartment. We were woken up by the cleaners moving the mini bins to the road right outside our window at 10PM and then again the next morning at 6.30AM! Plumbing noise from upstairs apartment was very noisy also. The garden outside was dead and had a pot plant consisting of dead leaves?! The gate out to the road was locked (no exit in case of an emergency or fire) which was a worry. Would never go back to these apartments - centrally located but absolutely nothing around due to the earthquakes. Demolition noise (I realise this is unavoidable during the rebuild) was fairly noisy so be aware of this when thinking to book. Never again - am so surprised at the good reviews! We were in apartment 1C - right in the corner.

Room Tip: Stay away from apartment 1C - hard when booking via the internet as it's paid before you stay bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestFitzroy, Manager at West Fitzroy Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback and we have taken on board your comments. Whilst there is no excuse, this was an apartment that had been rented out long term prior to your arrival and we should have spent a little more time on maintenance before letting it out to you. We have since replaced the curtains, resealed and fixed the shower eliminating the damp smell, tidied up the courtyard and repaired the gate that wasn't padlocked but could not be open due to movement from the earthquake. We await a decision from EQC/Insurance to arrange to repair the crack and paintwork in this apartment. I note that you were offered an alternative apartment but it would appear this was not taken. We have worked extremely hard to maintain the business following the earthquake as you will see from other comments and we are sorry you were disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here on two occasions on our trip to the South Islands. We stayed on the 7th and the 5th floor both park facing side which were great. While both apartments face the road, there wasn't much traffic and wasn't noisy at all. There are restaurants and supermarket about a km away which is quite helpful. Parking is spacious and each room has a dedicated one. We stayed in a two bed room apartment. The living room and kitchenette were quite spacious and bedrooms are functional. We found the apartment quite efficient in its service and breakfast was placed in the rooms the night before. I would call it business hotel type facilities and efficiency. We didn't stay too long on each trip (just overnight) and thought it was a good choice. There are no activities for kids and no pool.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor rooms facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ash2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at West Fitzroy apartments for three nights over New Years.

The apartments are conveniently located, near shops, parks, easy to get in an out of the city and close to the airport.

I personally didn't find the bed comfortable, but that's down to personal preference.

There were a couple of issues that had been encountered, a slight problem with the bill, as we booked through a third party and we had trouble with the dryer. However, there were no staff available as the office was closed for most of our stay from NYE. It's possible that this would have been sorted out quickly and efficiently if the staff were available. They did sort out the problem with the bill in 5 minutes as we checked out.

The facilities in the apartment were a strange mix of thoughtful and convenient and stingy and insufficient. The kitchen was well supplied with crockery, cutlery and Tupperware, and there was even fresh milk on arrival. But only four sugars. Only half a roll of toilet paper. No spare bin bags. Very sparse.

I would stay here again, but either for a shorter stay, only one or two nights, or a longer stay where it would not be such an inconvenience to self-cater the basics. Would have given this 3.5 stars if I could.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank MadameBossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We were glad to have found a nice place to stay but inside the appartment it was everything else than modern&stylish.
The rooms are well equippt but there was a terrible smell which would not go away. I was really glad to leave this smell behind - it did not go away! On the bed we had only sheets and no duvet and it was pretty cold at night. The room was ok but a bit shabby.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BerlinRoadRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestFitzroy, Manager at West Fitzroy Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hello, Thank you for your comments. If there are any maintenance issues such as smells or housekeeping issues such as the bedding it is always best to report them to reception or the after hours manager if reception is closed, during your stay so that we can remedy them immediately for you. Hope you have a better stay next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at the end of our trip for two days. The rooms were comfortable clean and tidy. We also had a car and the parking was on site and easy to get to. The staff were friendly. The location is very good if you just want to walk around time. The only downside was the general building going around the apartments, it did wake us early in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastyge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#17 of 146 in Christchurch
423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,986 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
#30 of 146 in Christchurch
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southwark Apartments
Southwark Apartments
#9 of 108 in Christchurch
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Fino Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Focus Motel & Executive Suites
Focus Motel & Executive Suites
#8 of 108 in Christchurch
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Fitzroy Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Fitzroy Apartments

Address: West Fitzroy 66 Armagh Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: £64 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Fitzroy Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your West Fitzroy Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Fitzroy Apartments Hotel Christchurch
West Fitzroy Apartments Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing