We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Azena Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Azena Motel
Ranked #96 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Friendly hosts, modern, very clean, toasty warm with everything you need. Great location - short drive into the central city but good shops, supermarket, bakery bar etc right across the road. Bus stops right outside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallystours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Good place to stay, short bus ride from Christchurch restart mall/Tuam Street bus station. Room was spacious, clean, massive tv, kitchen facilities, bathroom was good sized, very clean. Beds were comfortable. Well located near Dominos, a supermarket, a bar & a petrol station.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gracey-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My room was great. Very clean and comfortable. It had a little kitchenette with a stove top, fridge, and microwave, and there was even a washer and dryer in the room. Not at the motel... actually in my room for only me to use. I've never even seen that before. Great place to recharge on your trip. Very friendly and helpful reception. This is more than I've paid for any room on my trip, as I've been sticking mostly to hostels, but I'm glad I splurged and it was well worth the price for what I got.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeahiknow1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stayed one night. The room i had was clean and spacious with new quality fittings. Unlike some of the jaded motels/hotels that i have stayed in in NZ! The room was equipped with a large screen tv, kitchenette with sufficient cutlery, washing machine/dryer, smart shower that wasn't grubby or tatty and a comfy bed...that wasn't saggy and worn out! Conveniently located to the city centre with a supermarket and good eateries across the road.
The owner responded to my booking promptly with additional information and was helpful when i arrived, assisting with my transport for the following day.
The only downside was some traffic noise from the usual ChCh car 'hoons'.
All in all, a competitively priced motel that is a safe bet and i would certainly use again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Spacious and quality fitout. Free Internet usage also most welcome
Good restaurants 2min walk and Shriley Shopping Centre just 5 mins drive
Also BP Petrol station near the motel
Pleasant stay at reasonable cost!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phila987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed for one night while passing through. Nice facilities in room. Helpful receptionist. Standard for this part of the world--and reasonably priced. If you're taking intercity buses, the station on Hanley Road is nearby (10 mins walk).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NEWYORKPROF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I took a long time to choose a hotel at Christchurch, just for one night. Making analysis of cost/benefits I chose Azena. I liked very much! there are a lot of restaurants near the hotel besides a supermarket. A lot of stores and the hotel has a wonderful structure, as washing and dry machines. It surprised me because I could have my clothes washed and ready for the next day! The hotel is not located at downtown but as there were many closed roads it was just fine stay in a place with all that resources. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: there are first floor and ground level but all of them have the windows to the same place. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bbrauns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.2 mi away
Abbella Lodge Motel
Abbella Lodge Motel
#45 of 146 in Christchurch
68 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camelot Motor Lodge
Camelot Motor Lodge
#82 of 146 in Christchurch
411 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.6 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#133 of 146 in Christchurch
75 reviews
4.3 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azena Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azena Motel

Address: 12 Cranford Street | St Albans, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £65 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Azena Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azena Motel, new! opened 2007 , studio apertments with free internet in room conection cat.5e cable. Washing machines and dryer in all units , brilliant breakfast menu. Party of 4 or 5 ? no problem - we have units with interconnecting doors. close to CBD -2.0kms bus at the door . Airport is 9.5kms - 10-15 taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azena Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing