We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Addington City Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Addington City Motel
Ranked #50 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed at this motel for 6 nights, and although it is quite dated, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The unit was clean, warm and very spacious, with a full kitchen and free internet. If we returned after 5pm each evening the lights and heater had been turned on, making it very welcoming. These units are run by a lovely couple who do everything to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    28
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
37
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

plus side:
ideal for the railway and they offer a free pickup service
staff very friendly and welcoming and helpful, couldn't have asked for better
choice of eateries within 5 minutes walk
huge rooms
free internet

downside:
very tired, dated rooms (you know that smell when you walk in?) and the outside space is looking over the parking lot

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jumbobelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We booked again to stay at Addington City Motel because it is convenient, for Christchurch City and local amenities.
Andy and Janice who run the Motel are extremely nice people to deal with and this is part of the appeal of the place. The units are extremely spacious, free wi-fi is available and they come with a well-equipped kitchen. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a handy base to tour the area, or just to rest up before starting a tour.
The beds are comfortable and having a separate shower, sink and WC gives the units a luxury feel. Complimentary bathrobes are now provided which was a very welcome extra touch after a long flight!
Outside table are provided for each unit and if you have nice weather are just right for enjoying a meal 'al fresco'

Room Tip: All the units are the same high quality and a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mekydro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

This was a very low level Motel. The room was extremely dated and tired.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

An small older motel but pleasantly renovated. Off street, quite roomy and very quiet. Pleasant owner/operators live on site. Conveniently sited and modestly priced - no frills but we thought it good value for money. The only negative was that the shower had very low pressure/water flow, but this could be the result of the recent earthquake affecting infrastructure in the city. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philip650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

We stayed here for one night after travelling from Greymouth to Christchurch on the TransAlpine. Our host met us at the railway station and drove us to his motel only about 5 minutes away. This motel is quite old and has dated decor but we were very impressed with the size of the room and cleanliness. The bedroom is large with a fully equipped separate kitchen. the bathroom area is well designed with separate rooms for toilet, shower and vanity. All the usual toiletries are there. There is undercover parking for a car next door. Location - very close to the railway station, about 20 minutes drive (at 4.30am!) to the airport and about 20 minutes to the City central. There are lots of handy restaurants. We walked to a very popular BYO Chinese restaurant and had an excellent meal.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChumOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

This was the second time I had stayed here, and the owners possibly remembered as they gave me the same unit. The units are very roomy and comfortably sleep 4, are well-equipped with a full-size cooker and large fridge, ironing equipment and freeview TV.
Free wi-fi is available, a definite plus!
The units are a little dated perhaps but comfortable and the beds are good. There is a separate shower room, the WC and washbasin also being in separate areas which is handy when the units are occupied by 4 persons. I was invited to help myself to the owners' lemon tree for fresh lemons, which were delicious.
The location is handy for local shops, at least 3 good eateries for breakfasts and a fish-and-chippie across the road. Christchurch centre is a short bus ride away on route 7, and a free shuttle to/from the station or local area is offered via the owners' recently-bought minibus. Washing machine available in reception area. Would certainly stay here again, as the owners are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mekydro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#27 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.1 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#32 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Addington Court Motel
Addington Court Motel
#47 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arena Motel
Arena Motel
#31 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#18 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Addington Stadium Motel
Addington Stadium Motel
#101 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addington City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addington City Motel

Property: Addington City Motel
Address: 241 Lincoln Road | Addington, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Addington City Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Addington City Motel - Quiet, Comfortable, Safe and Affordable Motel Accommodation just 2km from the City Centre. Addington City Motel is opposite the Horncastle Arena the Addington Racecource, and of course the new AMI Crusaders Stadium The Rugby, The Races, The Concerts, The Plays, The Meals, The Drinks are all on our doorstep! We are the closest ground floor units only Motel to the Railway Station and Addington Shops/Restaurants/Bars. (Being a single storey motel there is no climbing of stairs or noise from upstairs units!) We meet the train on arrival. No having to phone and wait for a shuttle! (Please book in advance though!) Free Courtesy Shuttle to and from the Railway Station for the TransAlpine & TransCoastal Trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Addington City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing