We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome vibes”
Review of On Top Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
On Top Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Hostel was really easy to find, very close to the Octagon/city centre and looked pretty fancy for a backpackers even though it's price was very average. Contrary to what others have said, reception was friendly, attending to us when we needed to store our bags before checking in and after checking out. We had the room at the end of the floor so it was nice and relatively quiet, it was also pretty spacious and had nice glass doors (with curtains). The ensuite double room also came with towels and shower gels, a heater, tv and an electric blanket.
It really did not look like a typical hostel though the people in it made it feel so, very easy-going and friendly. Kitchen/sitting area was a bit small compared but was sufficient. Definitely value for money. Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontopbackpackers, Manager at On Top Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for all the positive comments. We truly appreciate them and we would love to have you stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

The area is nice but hospitality is far below par, owner is very unkind. Ourselves as well as MANY people currently staying there had nothing good to say about the main guy in charge.

When we got there we were not shown around or hardly told where most things were, they charge for towels and if you don't remind them they will "forget" the deposit you put down for the towels.

I never right reviews of places other than good but after the POOR service we and others there received I decided this should be shared.

Overall the hostel itself is nice, just could use some better ownership, maybe someone that actually likes people to run a hospitality business...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontopbackpackers, Owner at On Top Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi.
Thank you for your great comments giving Ontop Backpackers top marks for Cleanliness, Value, Rooms and Location.
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in our hospitality as we pride ourselves in providing good service.
There are signs everywhere so people can easily find their way around the Hostel.
The Manager whom you met for the first time when you were checking out is sorry that you were disappointed with his attitude.
He inquired as to why you were so glum when checking out and you answered you were disappointed that the gas went off at 11 pm and you were unable to cook. The Manager explained to you that the Gas was on a solenoid and switched off automatically at that time for yours and others safety. The Manager as was also pleased that he could assist you in helping you to find your lost car keys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

On Top Backpackers doesn't feel like a backpackers, it felt more like an upmarket lodge and was very well looked after. The staff were polite and accommodating. Excellent location for the city and for parking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cioffil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontopbackpackers, Manager at On Top Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We are very delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed for three nights in a deluxe twin room. The room was clean and very comfortable, especially with adjustable heating available. The property is a minute's walk from the centre of the Octagon, so it's very easy to get around. Free wifi is provided to guests on request, with a data limit of 50-100mb per day. Staff were very friendly and provided good advice and directions. Lastly, the pool hall and bar provide a nice atmosphere.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontopbackpackers, Manager at On Top Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your great feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the various aspects of your stay. The Ontop team truly appreciates your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed at On Top for a while in May/June and had a very positive experience. The location is excellent, the building itself modern and comfortable, a nice view 'on top'. All staff members were friendly and helpful. Huuge pool bar downstairs. Free breakfast. I would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkristiinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontopbackpackers, Manager at On Top Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay a soaked up the atmosphere! We hope to see you again, Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed at the Hostel back in March with my friend and we both loved it! The kitchen is spacious with lots of places to sit and there is even a roof terrace, which is nice when the sun is shining. We found the staff to be really friendly and enjoyed chatting with the cool dudes behind the bar over a Merlot or 2! Also the central location is great, just a few minutes walk to the Octagon and the library over the road has free WiFi.

We will definitely be coming back :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saz_naz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontopbackpackers, Manager at On Top Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for all your positive comments as we pride ourselves on providing the best!
And I am sure the 'cool dudes' will continue to be cool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed in the hostel for a week and liked it very much. The buidling is quite modern and quite original (everything is on the top floor, above a huge bar/pool tables area).
The dorm I stayed in was clean and bright. Same with the bathrooms even though you might have to wait for a shower at busy times. The kitchen was spacious and bright and it was very easy to cook proper meals, even at busy times: lots of space and tables. The big balcony overlooking the city was a great place to eat or just hang out on sunny days and evenings, the big table outside was a good spot to meet other guests/travellers. Staff was lovely and fun. Overall it was a very clean, well thought and chilled out hostel.
Dunedin is a great little city, lots of good bars and places to eat, and it's a great base to discover the Otago peninsula.
I have been recommending this hostel ever since I stayed there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheweecountyFiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontopbackpackers, Owner at On Top Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you very much for the great comments! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate the feedback. Thanks Again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.7 mi away
Manor House Backpackers
Manor House Backpackers
#8 of 47 in Dunedin
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chalet Backpackers
Chalet Backpackers
#10 of 47 in Dunedin
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Geeky Gecko Backpackers
Geeky Gecko Backpackers
#31 of 47 in Dunedin
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Backpackers Dunedin
1.5 mi away
Leith Valley Holiday Park & Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On Top Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On Top Backpackers

Address: Corner Filleul Street & Moray Place, Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range: £26 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — On Top Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ontop is a purpose built backpackers, 100% compliant to the new earthquake building standard and situated above a cosy cafe & bar located in the heart of Dunedin. We aim to provide the ultimate Dunedin experience for all you young and hip or just plain hip travellers! We have rooms to suit everyone, from dormitories to private rooms with or without an ensuite. You can enjoy the Dunedin sun on our spacious sun deck or come downstairs and try our range of magnificent craft beers over a friendly game of pool or even watch a classic film in our very own stylish cinema! We are only a minute's walk to the city's best bars, cafes, restaurants and shopping. Our friendly staff will share inside knowledge of tours and the bountiful treasures Dunedin has to offer. Whether its roaming the spectacular coastline of the Otago peninsula or exploring Dunedin's array of historical and heritage architecture, with its great central location and excellent facilities, Ontop is a great place to stay, relax and enjoy the Deep South! So come join us and soak up Dunedin's atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your On Top Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing