We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, basic, not much parking”
Review of Aaron Lodge Top 10

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aaron Lodge Top 10
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Situated on main road, ideal for town centre, approx 20mins drive. Room was very small, small bed which was uncomfortable, very basic kitchen, no wardrobe, cupboard space or anywhere to hang your clothes etc. Unit was modern and well decorated, but not very well cleaned, hairs in bathroom! Wouldn't recommend for a stay over 1 night, not comfortable. Not much parking, couldn't always park outside unit as no room, especially when other cars parked in their unit next door.

Room Tip: Studio Park Motel, very small units, parking an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights in mid July and rented a studio Motel unit which are relatively new. We were astounded at the size of the room which was huge. The decore was very nice, the bathroom spacious with all the usual motel things and the unit was clean and well maintained. Would be surprised if this complex of units is any more than two or three years old. The facilities include a covered pool that the owner assured me is 30 degrees year round. A spa was great before bed. We had a motorclcle on the back of our ute and the owner allowed us to park the ute in his garage for the two nights we stayed. The camping ground area is very well laid out with power and tent sites and there is a wee golf course and some of the picnic tables around the grounds have board games built in to them. We looked around the kitchens and bathrooms and it was all very clean and tidy. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetsetter1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

I stayed on the night from 25th to 26th March at this Top 10 Holiday Park on a tent site. Because I arrived late at night, I booked my tent site by telephone. I made the mistake not asking for the price. On the next morning, they charged me 30.60 NZD for a single person on a tent site for one night. This is a nasty rip-off and considering that this Top 10 Holiday Park in Dunedin is far out of town (you have to go from the town centre of Dunedin over a steep hill), it was really not worth the money at all.

Usually, holiday parks (including the Top 10 Holiday Parks) charge 50% of the price for a tent site to solo travellers. In other Top 10 Holiday Parks (Queenstown, Franz Josef, Motueka, Picton, New Plymouth, Rotorua, Russel, Kaihu, Ohope Beach) I paid - on an average - as a single traveller only 18 NZD (sometimes less and in very rare cases a little bit more).

Usually, Top 10 Holiday Parks are very nice. Only this Top 10 Holiday Park in Dunedin was a very bad experience for me.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelstelzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

This expensive ($46) camp site is a few kms outside the centre of town. Powered sites (not all have water) for camper vans are close together, tent sites have considerable space. Wifi is available with a strong signal. Check-in was easy and welcoming and considerable information was provided about the city. There are more than sufficient washing machines, toilets are ok (nothing more), the kitchen is a bit basic but take-aways are across the road from the site. There are good playground facilities for children and a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

- worst park ever
- disgusting smell in the gross kitchen
- dirty unisex toilet
- disgusting showers and toilet (no cleaner)
- unpolite staff

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grisucom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Not exactly in the best part of Dunedin, but close enough to the city. What makes this spot so nice is the terraced garden campsites. We pitched ten on a beautiful little site overlooking the rest of the park. The kitchen was well equipped and the bathrooms and showers were clean. I was not impressed with what I saw of the motel style units.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazza058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Decided to save money and went for an older studio room which was tiny and basic, wish we had gone for the more modern rooms when we saw the site. Usually when you stay in a cabin on a motor park there is somewhere to sit outside, however nothing lke that here, the unit was surrounded by tarmac. One good thing was that there is underfloor heating in the tiny shower room.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
7.4 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
633 reviews
1.9 mi away
Leith Valley Holiday Park & Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 61 in Dunedin
444 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dunedin Holiday Park
Dunedin Holiday Park
#6 of 44 in Dunedin
253 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alcala Motel
Alcala Motel
#12 of 44 in Dunedin
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron Lodge Top 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Lodge Top 10

Address: 162 Kaikorai Valley Road, Dunedin 9011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range: £71 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aaron Lodge Top 10 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aaron Lodge Top 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing