We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average for a Top 10”
Review of Aaron Lodge Top 10

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aaron Lodge Top 10
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We have stayed at a number of Top 10 holiday parks and I've thought they were great.
This one isn't up to the same standard.
We stayed in a basic cabin. There are 8 of them at the back of the park. There is one mens toilet, one womens toilet, 2 showers and a kitchen with a table and 2 chairs. This seems a bit crazy when the basic cabins alone can sleep 24 people! Ther were 3 cabins in use the night we stayed (including ours) and the fridge was full already when we turned up. I can't imagine what it must be like when they're busy.
We went to have our showers at 09.40 (check out is 10.00) and the cleaner had already taken down the shower curtains! It's like being in Communist east Europe.
Pretty poor compared to other Top 10s.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anon450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Aaron Lodge Top 10
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

We booked a cosy kiwi for two nights, but what the website photos don't show is that they are right on the corner of the intersection of two busy roads and our one was the closest to the road and very very noisy. For the first time ever when travelling, we decided to change rooms and asked about one of the motel units that were opposite. My husband asked to view it first and the room stank of urine. we went back to the desk and said we would sadly take noise over urine, and were shown another unit next door, which had a slightly musty smell but was more bearable. The unit was a decent size but the heater was very noisy and would kick in throughout the night constantly waking us. A few little things like net curtains (motel rooms are very exposed with windows on both sides) and lamps would have made life easier. trying to get a small child to sleep with overhead spot lights on is not ideal, but the lamp over the bed didn't work and there was no other lighting to work with. We also had to pay another $39 per night, so $163 per night for a motel room which seems poor value compared to other places we have stayed. If we had not paid in advance, we would have left. I think the facilities are actually quite good, pool, games room, TV room etc and we only tried top ten because our friends had raved about other ones. Probably good value for a large family on a tight budget, but with only one child, I think we will stick to motels instead and stay closer to the town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pip_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Stay in Aaron Lodge Top 10 Holiday Park for 1 night. Not easy to find for first timer, I missed the turn 2 times cause the entrance is rather small (Just nice for an 4 beth Campervan) The price is not cheap (SGD 68 for 2 Adult and 2 kids - 1 is infant) The price generally is clean - Kitchen, Toilet and Family Room. Nice Family room for kids to bath with Bath Tub, there is also a heated Pool for my elder daughter to swim a short while. Too bad from Powered Site to all area are without shelter but this is quote common in NZ. Kitchen are big but nearer to powered site only has 1 table and 4 chair which is rather pathetic. Maybe because they expect you to have meal in your campervan? One complain is the kitchen sink tap is very pathetic, unable to wash a plate properly cause the sprout is too short!

The toilet are clean but there is no heater ... or the heater is spolit/unable to switch on (Male toilet). So .. you have to quickly shower and get out of that place FAST during the colder season.

One last thing, the parking area for the Powered site is very small/compact. I wonder if every Campervan is parked. How to get out of the place? Cause the turning radius of RV/Campervan are quite wide and the lane is very small. Between vehicle space is also small and funny the pathway dont link to the kitchen straight as it is blocked by a low barricade. Need to hop across it which is rather inconvenient.

Overall experience is above average but not exactly the best I stay so far.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DracoLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed at this site in our motorhome. It is on the outskirts of town so not walkable. The toilets and showers are fairly basic and have seen better days.

The campsite had very good leisure facilities with a small pool, a pool table, table tennis and indoor bowls. They also had a 9 course mini golf course, which has got to be the smallest 9 hole course in the world. You have to use a plastic air ball rather than a gold ball, other wise the ball will go too far. ts stupid but good fun for 45 minutes or so. Sadly I lost to my wife. Arrggghhh!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelNutBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed in The Kozy Kiwi Self Contained unit, the double bed was small with one side hard aganist the wall, so it was better for one of us to sleep in the bunk bed. They are designed to take 4 people, but only have 2 chairs for the table & a small 2 seater suite. Very small (did I say very very small shower) the washing basin is very hard to shave at. Would we stay again? not in the Kozy Kiwi, the rooms opposite looked much better. I feel the TOP 10 NZ need to look at grading the cabins & self contained untils so the we all know what we are booking.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank algor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Bit dated but clean and nicely laid out, although not much space between pitches. Disappointed public transport to and from the city was so poor and not recommended. Meant dragging the camper out just to go into Dunedin and park for the day at the station if taking the train, for example.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Adelai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Having staying stayed at many Top 10's before with only one poor experience we did'nt actually stay the night here dispite having booked before. On inspection of the room the cheap nylon sheets were crumpled with dirty duvets, the room was also right next to a busy main road.
In addition the room seemed very tired. The only positive thing I can say is that the owner refunded our pre paid tarrif minus a 15% booking fee. I do think that the Top 10 organisation need to review their accomodation providors as the quality of their camps does vary hughly

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MichaeldMinehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.2 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
288 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
2.2 mi away
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
627 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
734 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron Lodge Top 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Lodge Top 10

Address: 162 Kaikorai Valley Road, Dunedin 9011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range: £70 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aaron Lodge Top 10 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aaron Lodge Top 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing