We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dunedin holiday” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aaron Lodge Top 10

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aaron Lodge Top 10
Invercargill
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dunedin holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I would have to question why we were given a 2 bedroom unit close to the road when there were others clearly available considering we booked days in advance. However after saying our kids were light sleepers they relented reluctantly and gave us another.The alarm clock was also set for 1am in the morning so was awoken to an alarm going off. Surely this should be checked as part of their inspections prior to renting. They didn't think so. The beds were comfy with nice sheets and a good pool for kids and playground.Person on duty not very friendly a simple hello is all that is expected.

Room Tip: When you book ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinjaInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    41
    39
    26
    19
See reviews for
48
67
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We arrived earlier than expected and found the camp easily. The instructions were very clear from the booking form. We were quickly given the keys to the motel unit. The staff were friendly. Once we got there and unpacked we noticed there was no couch in the living area and you were expected to either sit on dining chairs to watch TV or lay on the bed and watch across the room through a doorway if you wanted to be comfortable.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom motel unit and were initally concerned about the proximity to the main roadd, but this turned out to be no problem noisewise at all.
The unit was tidy and clean enough, but could do with a thorough cleaning including the balcony where the previous occupants beer bottle and cigarette butts were left.
We left a note asking for our room to be vacuumed and to borrow a cheese grater and both were done.
The amenities were great and thoroughly enjoyed by our 3 children. They loved the pool and the under 5 games room was supburb. The big kids (Dad included) really enjoyed the games room.
Parking was very cramped and difficult to manouveour larger vehicles into the correct parking bay.
We would stay here again, but would really recommend the park owners put couches into their family units.
The location is great. Easy to find and very quick into town.

Room Tip: If you want a couch in your unit - don't get the 2 bedroom motel unit! Definitely bring your to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Well situated campground to visit the city of Dunedin by bus or on foot. The Ground is o.k., but the facilities are rather old and the receptionist wasn't as friendly as we are used to from other Top 10 Holiday Parks. In addition the price for a powered campsite is the most expensive we ever paid at a Top 10 Holiday Park - for weaker performance. Be aware of that when booking!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Reto K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunedin hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had 3 nights here at Aaron Lodge in the Motel Unit which was perfect for us while being national tourists. Our unit was upstairs near the entrance, but we were never bothered by the nearby traffic. I don't like the cold, and being in the South Island for the first time during winter, I was worried about not being warm enough. I needn't have worried, we were plenty warm with a nice wall heater that warmed things quickly. We had a stove top if needed for cooking. It was good having a dining area with 2 separate bedrooms for us and the teenagers. Plenty of space. The boys enjoyed going over to the games room where they had a pool table, table tennis and an indoor bowls mat. We also made good use of the laundry which was located downstairs at the end of our building. Also really liked that they had an automatic sensor light in the stairwell. So when we came back late at night we didn't have to fumble around for a light switch. The little things :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here in order to see some of Dunedin's sights. We arrived at about 12:15pm and in short order, our hosts had booked us a wildlife trip with Monarch after listening carefully to what we were interested in seeing. Turned out to be a great expedition! The campsite was clean and quiet. Showers had lots of really hot water. I would have given a top rating except that I found it rather difficult to get into the campsite I was given. The campsites were designed, I think, for a time when camper vans were much smaller. I noticed several others having similar difficulties, but saying that , I could not find other faults. There are city bus stops seconds away from the campground which we found very helpful in accessing the downtown area.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sickmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

When we arrived at this holiday park we were initially dissapointed by the poor access and location, situated on a busy intersection. The room we were given was located about 15 m from the traffic lights and the road noise meant ,as light sleepers, we wouldn't be getting much rest that night.
After asking to be moved we were initially dismissed. After asking a second time we were offered other rooms at the back of the park.

We were pleased that the room was quieter but after settling in were shocked at the lack of overall cleanliness. The cramped bathroom walls were filthy, the bedding smelt, the pillows should have been replaced years ago due to thier odour, the mattresses were lumpy and the wire frames squeaked whenever you moved. Mum woke to be covered in bites all over her back.

With the exception of one staff member (Bruce?) the other's we dealt with were nothing short of rude and indignant when we suggested some things weren't up to spec.
This is a classic example of people trying to cram as much accom as possible into the space available at the expense of maintaining a certain standard.
Self catering accom is overpriced and we wouldn't recommend it if it was the last place left in Dunedin to stay.

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirl298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Anau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

we are traveling in a 6 berth motorhome (although there are just 2 of us - space being the driver). found aaron lodge to be easy to access, the site was fine and convenient to facilities - which are a little old but were clean and well presented, a minor flooding in the mens was cleared promptly and without hassle. unlike others we could not fault the reception staff - as with all the top 10 and kiwi sites we have stayed in the last 3 weeks they were both friendlyand helpful. we enjoyed the stay so much we are going back for 3 nights on our way back to christchurch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.2 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
1.6 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#54 of 58 in Dunedin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Dunedin Holiday Park
Dunedin Holiday Park
#8 of 40 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.9 mi away
Leith Valley Holiday Park & Motels
1.7 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron Lodge Top 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Lodge Top 10

Property: Aaron Lodge Top 10
Address: 162 Kaikorai Valley Road, Dunedin 9011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aaron Lodge Top 10 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Aaron Lodge Top 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing