We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Aaron Lodge Top 10

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aaron Lodge Top 10
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed in their Motel Units - actually ours was upstairs. Great two bedroom apartment with with comfortable beds and great kitchen facilities. The Bathroom was spacious and had underfloor heating - that seemed to work only at certain times however...

The location about 10 min by car from Dunedin central made this an ideal place to stay. Staff was friendly and it looked like there was plenty of space for kids too. They even have their own little bush walk with a stream running through it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_G_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Aaron Lodge Top 10
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

We used various Top 10 sites during our 3+ weeks in a campervan in NZ and this was the poorest in terms of welcome and space. Squashed in like sardines with no chance for quiet and privacy and every chance of doing serious damage to your rented motorhome as you manoeuvred it into your tiny site. Also, Aaron Lodge is well out of city centre so no good for walking. Very poor value and we moved out asap for more spacious and better situated Dunedin Holiday Centre, next to attractive St Kilda's beach and served by half hourly buses into city centre - also more convenient for trips round Otago Peninsular. Avoid Aaron Lodge!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is a fantastic little park , which is only about 5 minutes outside the octagon.
Excellent facilities for kids , and the games room is fantastic and time is lost so easily playing all the games with the kids. We stayed in the 3 Kozy Kiwis. Apart from the lock on one of the doors being a little dodgy , this was a good relaxed park , even in the busy january period. We would definately stay here again. Even on the main road , these were still quiet at night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We thought the place was generally fine. We liked the games room for the kids, and the TV room & it is nice to have a heated indoor pool & radio in the bathrooms. The room was quite adequate and met expectations. On the downside the TV room shuts at 10 pm when TV movies finish at 10.30 (although there is a TV in a dining room), and the kitchen/dining rooms have smelly old food impregnated carpet which needs to be dumped & extractors fitted. Close to the town centre.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Bob55Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed only for one night on a non-powered site at this campground. We had enough space because there were only a few guests with vans or tents. The powered sites were very narrow.
The kitchen was not as good equipped as we were accustomed with on other Top 10 parks. But it was clean.
My boyfriend told me that the sanitary facilities for men were very dirty. The ones for women were ok.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marigold1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I would have to question why we were given a 2 bedroom unit close to the road when there were others clearly available considering we booked days in advance. However after saying our kids were light sleepers they relented reluctantly and gave us another.The alarm clock was also set for 1am in the morning so was awoken to an alarm going off. Surely this should be checked as part of their inspections prior to renting. They didn't think so. The beds were comfy with nice sheets and a good pool for kids and playground.Person on duty not very friendly a simple hello is all that is expected.

Room Tip: When you book ask for a room away from the road.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinjaInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We arrived earlier than expected and found the camp easily. The instructions were very clear from the booking form. We were quickly given the keys to the motel unit. The staff were friendly. Once we got there and unpacked we noticed there was no couch in the living area and you were expected to either sit on dining chairs to watch TV or lay on the bed and watch across the room through a doorway if you wanted to be comfortable.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom motel unit and were initally concerned about the proximity to the main roadd, but this turned out to be no problem noisewise at all.
The unit was tidy and clean enough, but could do with a thorough cleaning including the balcony where the previous occupants beer bottle and cigarette butts were left.
We left a note asking for our room to be vacuumed and to borrow a cheese grater and both were done.
The amenities were great and thoroughly enjoyed by our 3 children. They loved the pool and the under 5 games room was supburb. The big kids (Dad included) really enjoyed the games room.
Parking was very cramped and difficult to manouveour larger vehicles into the correct parking bay.
We would stay here again, but would really recommend the park owners put couches into their family units.
The location is great. Easy to find and very quick into town.

Room Tip: If you want a couch in your unit - don't get the 2 bedroom motel unit! Definitely bring your to...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.2 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
288 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
2.2 mi away
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
627 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
734 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron Lodge Top 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Lodge Top 10

Address: 162 Kaikorai Valley Road, Dunedin 9011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range: £70 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aaron Lodge Top 10 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aaron Lodge Top 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing