We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”
Review of Arcadian Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arcadian Motel
Ranked #49 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Booked last minute when we decided to visit Dunedin. Somewhat out of downtown with basic, somewhat shabby room. It did the trick but I wouldn't want to stay longer than a night or two.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DowntownWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed at the Arcadian for one night while visiting Dunedin. The motel is actually in 2 parts - a typical motel style part and an old house next door with 2 bed and breakfast style rooms. When we arrived we were given one of the B&B style rooms. This was a really comfortable room and was quite stylish with high ceilings; the only drawback was that the driveway was quite tight and care is needed reversing on to the main road. Friendly staff and the free morning paper was a nice touch. The motel is a fair way from town (about a 10 minute drive) but is ideally located for exploring the Otago Peninsula. Great value at $90NZD for the night.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanMish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed two nights here. The hotel is a couple of km from downtown, with easy access if you have a car. We ended up with a room in the 'house' part of the motel (Room J), which was a beautiful large room with small kitchenette and really nice bay window (it only had a view of the shrubs, but being summer, they were flowering at least). The hosts were nice and accommodating, and this was the only place we stayed in NZ where the internet was free, fast, and reliable. Very good value for the money too.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wombatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Absolutely great motel to stay at, great hosts who were so friendly. We were in Dunedin on bad news and so it was nice to be shown such great hospitality at such a hard time. There were 6 of us staying in a two bedroom room for 5 nights, and for us aussies who felt the cold, the room was comfortable and warm, with enough heating as well as electric blankets a nice big flatscreen and comfortably large lounge room. The room was so clean, bright and airy and we had fresh towels everyday. There is also a laundry where you can wash, dry and iron your clothes. Everything you need is here.

It is well located only 2 sections on the local bus to the city and shops with the bus stop right outside the doors. Takeaway, corner store, bakery and pharmacy less than a minute walk. If you want to cook for yourself, it has a great sized kitchenette with a full oven and the supermarket is about 2mins down the road.

My family loved the motel, thanks for a great stay and Lauren thanks for your compassion at this sad time of ours. When we come back to Dunedin this is the place that we will stay.

Room Tip: Great place, quiet, clean and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mochachilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We stayed two nights at the Arcadian. Our room was large and comfortable and had a nice skylight. It's nothing fancy but it's a good value for the price. The owners were friendly and funny and their little dogs, George and Rose, are very cute. (Don't worry, they don't sleep in your room or anything.)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zinsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We were just passing through Dunedin so were in the room a very short time. It was clean and the owners were lovely so we felt it was fine and worth the money for a short stay. Nothing luxurious though if that is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keukarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

A very well located motel to visit the Otago peninsula.Nothing special,but friendly owner who had a laptop for use.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulhofstee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#31 of 61 in Dunedin
215 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
301 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#21 of 61 in Dunedin
84 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#16 of 61 in Dunedin
378 reviews
2.3 mi away
Allan Court Motel
Allan Court Motel
#33 of 61 in Dunedin
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadian Motel

Address: 85 Musselburgh Rise | Sunshine, Dunedin 9013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £50 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arcadian Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motel is situated in a quiet suburban location, only minutes from the centre of Dunedin but on the route to the Otago Peninsula. We have a range of units of varying sizes suitable for individuals, couples, families or groups. We enjoy advising travellers of the many attractions Dunedin has to offer. See our web page for further details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcadian Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadian Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing