We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arcadian Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Motel on York(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amross Motel(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartments at St Clair(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Dunedin(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$98
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
57
34
16
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
34
16
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaster bedroomfree wificomfortable bed and pillowsold housefully equipped kitchenlarge roomlounge areaplace to staybusy roadheat pumpstayed two nightsnight stayclose to townsupermarketunitsbedsitmotel
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Booked last minute when we decided to visit Dunedin. Somewhat out of downtown with basic, somewhat shabby room. It did the trick but I wouldn't want to stay longer than a night or two.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DowntownWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed at the Arcadian for one night while visiting Dunedin. The motel is actually in 2 parts - a typical motel style part and an old house next door with 2 bed and breakfast style rooms. When we arrived we were given one of the B&B style rooms. This was a really comfortable room and was quite stylish with high ceilings; the only drawback was that the driveway was quite tight and care is needed reversing on to the main road. Friendly staff and the free morning paper was a nice touch. The motel is a fair way from town (about a 10 minute drive) but is ideally located for exploring the Otago Peninsula. Great value at $90NZD for the night.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanMish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed two nights here. The hotel is a couple of km from downtown, with easy access if you have a car. We ended up with a room in the 'house' part of the motel (Room J), which was a beautiful large room with small kitchenette and really nice bay window (it only had a view of the shrubs, but being summer, they were flowering at least). The hosts were nice and accommodating, and this was the only place we stayed in NZ where the internet was free, fast, and reliable. Very good value for the money too.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wombatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Absolutely great motel to stay at, great hosts who were so friendly. We were in Dunedin on bad news and so it was nice to be shown such great hospitality at such a hard time. There were 6 of us staying in a two bedroom room for 5 nights, and for us aussies who felt the cold, the room was comfortable and warm, with enough heating as well as electric blankets a nice big flatscreen and comfortably large lounge room. The room was so clean, bright and airy and we had fresh towels everyday. There is also a laundry where you can wash, dry and iron your clothes. Everything you need is here.

It is well located only 2 sections on the local bus to the city and shops with the bus stop right outside the doors. Takeaway, corner store, bakery and pharmacy less than a minute walk. If you want to cook for yourself, it has a great sized kitchenette with a full oven and the supermarket is about 2mins down the road.

My family loved the motel, thanks for a great stay and Lauren thanks for your compassion at this sad time of ours. When we come back to Dunedin this is the place that we will stay.

Room Tip: Great place, quiet, clean and private
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mochachilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We stayed two nights at the Arcadian. Our room was large and comfortable and had a nice skylight. It's nothing fancy but it's a good value for the price. The owners were friendly and funny and their little dogs, George and Rose, are very cute. (Don't worry, they don't sleep in your room or anything.)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zinsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews