We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
George Street Motel Apartments
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed for a weekend. Complementary breakfast was appreciated. Location one of the best for convenience. Spacious, sunny, warm, very clean and comfortable. Excellent value all things considered. Will certainly stay again.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarrysMotel, Manager at George Street Motel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you for your review. We look forward to you staying with us again when next in Dunedin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for George Street Motel Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

I think they are trying to fix this property up. There are new flat screen tv's and free unlimited wi-fi. The furniture is old and dated and worn looking. The bathroom was horrible. The sink had a repair that looked like a big glob of snot. There were chips out of the cabinets. The bathroom was small and cramped and looked like something out of the sixties. The breakfast was inconsistent. One morning box juice drinks (37% juice), the next real juice, one morning no yogurt, the next yogurt. The "king" bed was really two bed twins shoved together. At 5'7" I had to sleep with my ankles hanging over the end. It was very, very noisy. Our friends found black mold on their shower head. Don't be misled (as our guide was) by the pictures on the Internet. They are not indicative of the rooms. The cost was included in our trip, so I don't know how it compared to the value. If the city hadn't of been sold out because of a cricket match I would have moved.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before paying and get one as far back from the road as you can.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarrysMotel, Manager at George Street Motel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you for your comments. The Shower was fixed immediately the problem was told to us. The Bed is a standard size used in all Motels. Your pre paid breakfast did not include some items you received, we added the ones you mention for free. As standard practise we supply free mini continental breakfasts. The Motel has just had an extensive upgrade, with more to come. We wish you well on your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Upon arriving I was greeted by the very friendly manager who was very accommodating (he put us in the furtherest away unit from the street, which also had a wee fenced grass area for my toddler). Parking was fantastic, so often in Dunedin there is not sufficient parking in motels in the CBD, or they are very difficult and cramped, but Farrys has heaps of spacious parking. My unit was a bit tired but you get what you pay for. My only real negative was in my studio unit there was no sink in the kitchenette, which was really annoying as I had to fill the jug up in the bathroom which wasn't easy! Other than that, would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from george street as possible, our room was very quiet, had a great slee...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarrysMotel, Manager at George Street Motel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you for your great review, it is much appreciated. The Motel has new owners who are continually upgrading the property in general. We look forward to having you stay again when next in Dunedin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Second time we have stayed at the Farrys while helping shift student between flats. Had a large trailer that needed parked and they have a great parking area that is hard to find with Dunedin Motels. Booking in etc was quick and easy and the room a studio was clean and tidy, tho having to fill the jug from the basin in the bathroom while someone else is in the shower is different. Good location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarrysMotel, Manager at George Street Motel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you for your review. We are continually looking to improve the Motel. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to having you stay again when next in Dunedin. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Thanks to Bruce for ensuring a perfect stay in the executive apartment for 6 of us in December 2012. Very spacious so kids and adults could co-exist happily and within walking distance of city centre, resstaurants and shops. Clean and very well equipped.

Room Tip: Even the 2 person motel rooms are spacious and well furnished - would not hesitate to stay here agai...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwendolina10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarrysMotel, Manager at George Street Motel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you for your review. Yes our location is one of the best in Dunedin. New Owners are continually working on upgrading the property in general, much has been done already, you see more improvements next time you visit. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I spent a few days here on business by myself. The spacious one bedroom unit was clean and tidy with a flat screen tv in both lounge area and bedroom. The bed was large but, sleeping in the middle of it by myself, I noticed the gap between the two halves of the mattress. The shower mixer was prone to go between cold and hot depending of whether other guests were using water in their units. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Good location and easy walk into the CBD.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reb2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Close to the centre of town and an easy flat walk to the Octagon. Very spacious and clean unit with check in and check out professionally completed.Should be further up the ratings scale. Would definately stay again when visiting Dunedin

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aged65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora on George
Aurora on George
#16 of 61 in Dunedin
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.4 mi away
Cable Court Motel
Cable Court Motel
#30 of 61 in Dunedin
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Allan Court Motel
Allan Court Motel
#36 of 61 in Dunedin
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Street Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Street Motel Apartments

Address: 575 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Farrys Motel / Apartments)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £66 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — George Street Motel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, spacious, sunny, centrally heated, 4 Star Qualmark Motel/Apartments in a superb location being one block from CBD Retail, Uni, Museum, cafes etc. Studio Suites, one to four bedroom superior Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your George Street Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing