We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat, close to Otago and George St amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
George Street Motel Apartments
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hard to beat, close to Otago and George St amenities”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Visiting Dunedin for a week for the bi-annual marine mammal conference at the University of Otago, we stayed here for five nights in December of 2013. If returning to do anything at the University I would stay here again and highly recommend it to others. Clean, blazing fast Wifi connection for NZ, very close to both campus and the main eateries and bars on George St, this place turned out to be very comfortable and well worth the cost. The have free laundry and off street parking at no extra cost. Our room was on the second floor, and almost every night we were woken to large groups of students returning to dorms or off campus housing after long nights of heavy drinking. This didn't bother us too much, much a part of the experience of city life in the Southern Hemisphere.

Room Tip: If you are upstairs the rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKRockyTop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    40
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
36
24
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Two of us shared a one-bedroom apartment for 9 days. We were attending a conference at the Univ of Otago, which was very easy walk. Apt was well equipped for cooking full meals, and a supermarket about 10-minute walk away. Didn't hear the neighbors nor the street. Clean, comfy beds, wonderful staff. The wifi was superb - fast, and steady. Two flat-screen TVs and a DVD, radio in the bedroom. Fairly busy street, but we could not hear traffic as we were in the rooms towards the back. Free washer/dryer. Excellent price, great value - I would definitely stay here again!
- Rebecca

Room Tip: As for a room away from the street - it is a tad busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavieng, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My accommodation requirements for this short trip to Dunedin were simple enough: it had to be close to the university and the main part of town (i.e. dining and shopping). Farry's Motel was a perfect choice but with one added surprise!

The second floor room I was assigned was spacious, with the sitting/dining areas separate from the bedroom and bathroom. Everything was clean and well maintained, so no complaints there. It looked as if everywhere except the bathroom had been redone or at least redecorated at some point in the past few years, which was nice. That said, the bathroom was perfectly fine, if a little cramped and dated; but the toiletries and linen were of good quality. A simple complimentary breakfast was supplied along with the local paper. There is cable television, but the choices are extremely limited - not that I had time to watch anyway.

Something which must be pointed out is the wi-fi connection. So many hotels I've stayed at these past few years (including some InterContinentals and Hiltons) still get this wrong, in that the speeds are too slow. This is where Farry's truly stands out; not only was the speed really fast, but the connection held for all my devices - very impressive! I can say this was not something I would have expected from a mid-range motel.

Dunedin is not an especially big town, but I would recommend this motel to those who need to be near the university or city centre.

If my report helped in your decision-making, or if you just enjoyed reading it, please take the time to click the 'was this review helpful' button below. This is the only sort of feedback I receive and I appreciate your acknowledgement.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ExLibris76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and found this an excellent location for visitors to Dunedin.It was a short walk to the town centre, along a busy-ish road, meaning that there was a little noise on weekend nights, but at the same time also meaning it was safe enough for my 20 year old daughter and her friend to walk home from a late night in town.The managers were very friendly, right from booking through to leaving. I loved their little ritual of a 'mini- breakfast( complete with eggs!)being supplied as part of the deal. A simple gesture but very welcoming. The unit was big enough, comfortable twin single beds, warm, and very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our superior suite was on the second floor which was spotless clean. We had complimentary breakfast with bread, cereal, eggs and milk. The kitchen was well equipped with stainless steel pots and pans. Microwave, toaster, water kettle, coffee maker, mugs, plates, glasses -- everything there in the kitchen were very new and clean. The 'unlimited' free wifi was one of the best things my children liked about. Unlike other motels we've stayed in our two-week vacation in New Zealand, they had free wifi but with limited data usage. Farrys Motel has "Unlimited" and very fast wifi. The manager was very friendly and helpful. He walked with us to our suite and showed us around. The location was great. We parked our rental car and walked to the city center and to the university. We definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarrysMotel, Manager at George Street Motel Apartments, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you very much from all the Team at Farrys for all your fantastic comments. We are pleased to hear our Wi-Fi is working well, a major upgrade of our system has been completed, we are only too happy to provide this free and unlimited, along with our complimentary Mini Continental Breakfast which we have just added Yogurt too as well, to hopefully cover all Guests preferences. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again when next in Dunedin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Our second time here, same friendly efficient service, spotlessly clean, comfortable, and really like the further updates with the new bedding, curtains, and Art. Such a great location, and very well priced all things considered. Thanks again for the complimentary breakfast, extra bread for toast was appreciated. Will most certainly stay again when next in Dunedin.

Room Tip: All one bedroom Suites appear identical, we prefer top floor for the view and quieter. Had a look th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarrysMotel, Manager at George Street Motel Apartments, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us again, its always pleasing to see return Guests. Lovely to hear you like our further improvements, there will be even more when you stay next time. I will pass on your comments to all our Staff. Wishing you Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here in June and was pretty happy with most facilities, especially the heating.
Like other reviewers have pointed out, the staff were amazing and were eager to help.

Free breakfast is only for the first day, just in case you are expecting it everyday.

The only problem we had was with the shower. While it is great in terms of pressure which others have commented on, water quickly formed a pool and one needed to wait for a while before washing feet and walking out. Not sure if this was a problem with just ours!

Room Tip: Upstairs will have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melblore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarrysMotel, Manager at George Street Motel Apartments, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
On behalf of the Team at Farrys, thanks for your review.
It is good to see that our efforts to upgrade the "Farry" experience are working - improved Wi-Fi, new Tv's, the external look and more recently, the internals.
Your comment on our showers has alerted us and we have tried some tweaks to solve this issue!
Certainly our central heating and mini continental breakfast on your first night set us apart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 mi away
Aurora on George
Aurora on George
#17 of 61 in Dunedin
67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#5 of 61 in Dunedin
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Allan Court Motel
Allan Court Motel
#30 of 61 in Dunedin
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Street Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Street Motel Apartments

Property: George Street Motel Apartments
Address: 575 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Farrys Motel / Apartments)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — George Street Motel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, spacious, sunny, centrally heated, 4 Star Qualmark Motel/Apartments in a superb location being one block from CBD Retail, Uni, Museum, cafes etc. Studio Suites, one to four bedroom superior Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your George Street Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing