We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the city centre…...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
George Street Motel Apartments
Ranked #29 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Close to the city centre…...”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We recently stayed at this motel due to a family member requiring surgery - we were offered a small discount on our room rate when we mentioned this which was appreciated. Rooms were well heated, spacious, the complimentary breakfast was a nice touch on the first morning. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    40
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
24
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I wish I could give it a higher rating it was so nice. The Relieving Manager, Sally, was the most welcoming and accommodating person. The rooms were roomy with fully equipped kitchen, oven and all. Breakfast of eggs, cereal, bread, butter, jam all provided in the fridge upon our arrival. That was so nice. Spotlessly clean and warm. Separate bedroom. Definitely recommend and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Just book it. You won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Was there for only 2 nights but my experience was very pleasant. Clean room, comfy bed and fully stocked if I was to stay there longer. All the staff were extremely helpful and fantastic to talk to, even if it was about the terrible weather. :)

The next time I'm in Dunedin I won't hesitate in staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cappee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here one night and I must say they were very helpful and ver accommodative. We booked for 2 nights and over plans changed and they let us leave one night early without charging us. Great service. If I go back to Dunedin I would surely go back there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tapan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
258 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife was with me for this two-night stay and we were split over the ratings for Farrys. Mde thought it was too small, especially the bedroom, and too expensive. She hated the net curtains screening the walkway/balcony. I was away at meetings during the day so my impressions were a little different.
Yes, everything has been shaved down to minimum dimensions, including the parallel fence-line parking spaces (which took some negotiating on the slope) but to be fair, it had all we needed, clean and tidy, excellent wi-fi, a proper dining table, no-hassle check-in, check-out. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_rua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Had a two night stay in a Premiere Terrace Suite which was lovely, one of the best apartments we have stayed in during many years travelling. Manager was very friendly and personally showed us to our Apartment and through the apartment when we arrived. We had had a few dramas before our arrival due to three persons from our seven person group pulling out just prior to travel resulting in us having to change our booking twice before arrival and this was done for us with no problems at all.
Apartments are in a great position, just a short walk to George Street shops and restaurants and easy walking distance from Forsyth Barr Stadium where we were attending an event. Although it was University O Week and Dunedin was very busy we did not have any problems with noise, which we would have expected in a location so close to the Central City and University.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LynLawBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
347 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

This little "gem" is situated within walking distance to the city and our upstairs unit was very spacious, clean and comfortable with good Wifi, and very well appointed kitchen. The adequate breakfast consisting of cereal, eggs, toast, jam spread, and yoghurt was included in the tariff. The use of the laundry facilities was complimentary. Linen and furnishings were clean and it was a pleasure to stay here. Highly recommend a stay if you want a comfortable unit close to the city area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 mi away
Aurora on George
Aurora on George
#15 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Allan Court Motel
Allan Court Motel
#34 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
315 Euro Motel
315 Euro Motel
#18 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#5 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Street Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Street Motel Apartments

Property: George Street Motel Apartments
Address: 575 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Farrys Motel / Apartments)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — George Street Motel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, spacious, sunny, centrally heated, 4 Star Qualmark Motel/Apartments in a superb location being one block from CBD Retail, Uni, Museum, cafes etc. Studio Suites, one to four bedroom superior Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your George Street Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing