We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location, excellent all round”
Review of Motel on York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel on York
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good location, excellent all round”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights. Good room with balcony/terrace. Excellent facilities, bathroom, kitchenette etc. On site laundry was neat and tidy and well. Good position, a five minute walk to the centre of town with its excellent shopping and attractions. The tourist information centre is nearby also which was useful for booking trips etc. can't fault this motel, highly recommended!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NS_Sevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thanks for your comments. We are pleaseed you enjoyed your stay with us, and in our city. We appreciate that you took the time to write your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    54
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
85
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Twizel, South Canterbury
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed overnight in one of the studios overlooking the city. A very nice room and worth paying the premium. The staff were friendly and helpful and there certainly was pride in their work. Would go there again and recommend highly.

Room Tip: Stairs may be problem for those unable to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heartlandlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thanks for your comments. We appreciate that you took the time to write and look foreward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed for a few nights in the Motel on York, and found it comfortable, well appointed and perfectly located.

We extended our stay by a night and as such had to change rooms so have the advantage of being able to recommend both the suite and the studio.

The suite was extremely comfortable and well appointed - and plenty big enough for two people to comfortably spread out in. We found ourselves in the accessibility suite which meant a huge shower (small tip there).

The studio was much smaller ... but absolutely fine for a night (or two).

The wifi worked just fine.

The managers there were particularly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarneyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york47, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your time to comment, and pleased you had the opportunity to experience 2 types of room. It was good that both met your expectations. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we enjoyed having you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast BC
Level Contributor
232 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We recently stayed overnight at Motel on York as an overnight stop before heading back to the North Island. We were able to walk from the train station to the Motel and while it is about a 15 minute walk it is an easy walk. There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance too. We were able to get an early morning airport shuttle that took us to Dunedin Airport.

The hotel has new management who are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and fresh and very comfortable.

We would certainly stay here again when visiting Dunedin.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bathtub so if you want that you need to specify.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cucina58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york47, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your time to do so. we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We were delighted with the Motel on York in Dunedin. It was comfortable, clean, had a large bathtub with Jacuzzi plus a shower, a well-furnished kitchen, sitting area and TV. There was plenty of parking, downtown was close-by and easily walkable, and the staff was very pleasant and helpful with recommendations and suggestions about activities, places to dine, and directions. We would enjoy another stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libtyfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york47, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your time to do so. we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My wife and I stayed here. We requested an early check in, due to a medical procedure earlier that day. When we arrived early our room was ready. The room was perfect, amazingly clean. it was well designed with everything u would need for the night. We went out for tea and when we returned there was only one car park that was a little tight for my large ute, the female manager/owner came out and moved her car to make it easier for me to park, this was great service which has been uncommon on my recent travels. We had a great sleep, it was very peaceful. Motel on york is in a quiet part of town, it's 5 min away to town centre. Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york47, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you very much. We really appreciate your comments and that you took the time and made the effort to pass on your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Dunedin's not a big city but motel on York was still way to find. Easy walking distance of the quadrant...main drinking and eating area.
Immaculate room with well equipped 'kitchen' area.
Worth asking a tip out to Otago Peninsula....super views back across the harbour.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getaway247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york47, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and that you took the time to provide them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#34 of 61 in Dunedin
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Dunedin
Quest Dunedin
#46 of 61 in Dunedin
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel on York

Property: Motel on York
Address: 47 York Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel on York 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel on York is a modern complex situated in the heart of the city. With 24 superior, quiet luxury units in a smokefree environment, we offer a range of affordable, high quality accommodation from elegant studios to executive and deluxe suites, all with enhanced video security features and filtered water - right in the centre of Dunedin. All units have LCD TV's. There are laundry facilities on site. Cafes, Theatres, Restaurants and the Main Shopping Centre is a mere 300 metres away from this peaceful inner-city property. For your Dunedin Business Corporate needs we have Free High speed wireless broadband internet (100mbs) access available in all units. Photocopying, and faxing facilities also available. We also have clothing racks.Visit the Cadbury World, Speights, Otago Museum, Dunedin's Railway Station(one of the most photographed in the world), Moana Pool, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Restuarants, Theatre and Shopping all within walking distance from the Motel. Baldwin Street - the worlds steepest street, Larnach Castle with wonderful views over the harbour and Olveston - a landmark Edwardian home built between 1904 and 1906 are just some of the things to see and do while you are in Dunedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing