We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great convenience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel on York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel on York
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great convenience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

First, the location is dandy! It's just 2 or 3 blocks from The Octagon (centre of town), and slightly to the north-east toward the University of Otago and the livelier restaurant and shopping area. And the apartment is convenient once inside as well ... a full kitchen (dishes, cooking utensils, etc.) and lots of space, all pretty and modern.

We also enjoyed chatting with our gracious and attentive hosts, Eoin & Vicki, and appreciated their advice about the town. They run a comfortable and functional motel. We'd stay here again if we're in Dunedin. BTW, he pronounces it "Ian" ... if you spell it "Aeioun" he'll know who sent you, and will appreciate your staying at The Motel on York. Enjoy!

Room Tip: There are three floors. Ian will help you carry your bags up, but ask for a lower room if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our facilities and location worked so well for you. Enjoy your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    50
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
81
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We recently had a weekend in Dunedin and found this motel ideally situated for the things we had planned. Good parking and the units are very spacious - three rooms and everything very clean and well maintained. This is the sort of motel that I would chose if having a longer stay in Dunedin. We also had the offered continental breakfast and found it as good as any offered elsewhere. This motel is also just a short walk to the Octagon and some of Dunedin's best restaurants.

Room Tip: Some outside noise during a Saturday evening with fireworks - a November thing !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retep42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. Yes we get great comments about or location being only a couple of minutes to the centre of town. Pleased you enjoyed your room, and your stay, and we look forard to seeing you again.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
Level Contributor
295 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Thankfully, in a very hilly town, this place is near the bottom of the hills and a stone's throw from the CBD. Numerous restaurants nearby. Clean, well appointed business style place. Rooms have all hotel amenities inc laundry facilities and ironing board. Complete kitchen and utensils. This includes the beverage supplies for the morning, including proper milk. Note a cold breakfast can be arranged and it will be delivered to your room the night before. Easy on site parking. This place is popular with the business clientele. Eoin, the owner is knowledgeable about the area and very helpful. You could not ask for a better place. Limited wheelchair access. The value is so far the best we have encountered in NZ.

Room Tip: Reservations are suggested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank im44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thanks very much for your very kind comments. We are pleased you found our motel worked so well for you, and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Don't get me wrong this is a nice complex but I am not sure how it is a 5 star property. The units are nice, clean and not bad for size. However they were not double glazed so there was a bit of noise from outside. There was only 1 spare blanket for 3 beds and it was a cool night. Sure there was a heater but do not like sleeping with it on. They had a microwave but no jug or bowl suitable to use in it. So you really couldn't cook anything. I would stay here again but if you are basing your decision solely on a 5 star rating you may be dissapointed. Must say the hosts were great also.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gahchch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are always happy to assist with any extra bedding or other requirements that guests may have. We are happy to assist with crockery if what is available does not meet your needs as well.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed at the Motel on York in Dunedin for two nights last week - very convenient location (as I was working in the City) and the motel was super clean!

I hadn't stayed there before however iot will be my motel of choice in the future - and the tariff was very good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank george093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We are grateful you took the time to post your comments, and pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

One night stay only although room very spacious, staff friendly and bed very comfortable. Would stay again when next in Dunedin. A little traffic noise in my front room although was so tired it didn't interrupt my sleep. Recommended

Room Tip: Request a room away from York St which would be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate that you took the time to give us your review.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I would not hesitate to recommend this motel. Clean, modern, good service and friendly staff who couldn't do enough to help. Little things like fresh milk instead of UHT, and an excellent guest information folder really put the finishing touch on a pleasant stay. To top it off they were happy to post back my glasses that I had left behind, at no extra cost. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.4 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#29 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
315 Euro Motel
315 Euro Motel
#12 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel on York

Property: Motel on York
Address: 47 York Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#18 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel on York 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel on York is a modern complex situated in the heart of the city. With 24 superior, quiet luxury units in a smokefree environment, we offer a range of affordable, high quality accommodation from elegant studios to executive and deluxe suites, all with enhanced video security features and filtered water - right in the centre of Dunedin. All units have LCD TV's. There are laundry facilities on site. Cafes, Theatres, Restaurants and the Main Shopping Centre is a mere 300 metres away from this peaceful inner-city property. For your Dunedin Business Corporate needs we have Free High speed wireless broadband internet (100mbs) access available in all units. Photocopying, and faxing facilities also available. We also have clothing racks.Visit the Cadbury World, Speights, Otago Museum, Dunedin's Railway Station(one of the most photographed in the world), Moana Pool, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Restuarants, Theatre and Shopping all within walking distance from the Motel. Baldwin Street - the worlds steepest street, Larnach Castle with wonderful views over the harbour and Olveston - a landmark Edwardian home built between 1904 and 1906 are just some of the things to see and do while you are in Dunedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing