We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for exploring central Dunedin”
Review of Motel on York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel on York
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good location for exploring central Dunedin”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Comfortable motel located just behind town hall and lively 'Octagon' area. Very clean. Efficient, friendly reception staff helped us to settle in very quickly. Complementary WiFi but no A/C otherwise 5*.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAHEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thanks for your comments. We appreciate you taking time to comment, and enjoyed our location right in town. We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    53
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
85
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed for two nights and were very happy with this accommodation.
There is a large bedroom with a king sized bed (very comfortable), a bathroom with a powerful shower and an in room kitchenette.
We were cheerfully greeted and given fresh milk and a complementary wifi code then shown to our rooms.
The Motel is less than 5 minutes walk from the Town Hall in Dunedin so couldn't be more centrally located.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our great location right in town. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here for several nights. The complex looked high quality and the rooms were nicely furnished and clean, but the ventilation was appalling. The bathroom had no fan and just one tiny window almost at ceiling height - totally inadequate after more than one shower. Bedroom was excessively hot (and this was in cool Dunedin weather) and, again, only one tiny window that barely opened, so no way of getting some air in the unit. Rates were exorbitant - way in excess of anything we have ever been charged for equivalent motels anywhere else in NZ. Poor rating is largely on basis of poor value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candi2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are sorry if you felt you did not get value for your money, and we are always happy to assist with any issues to make your stay more comfortable. Many of our rooms have sliding doors to balconies as well as windows if you require additional ventilation, and if there was a problem with your bathroom we were happy to look at.
We trust you enjoyed your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Couldn't find much quality accommodation in Dunedin however found this motel where the front man was lovely and the unit was nice and tidy also accommodated by a spa bath which was a lovely touch. Simple walk into the octagon and most of the shops were a small walk of about 2 blocks. Would recommend.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NZTraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We appreciate your comments and will congratulate the front man...
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Wow, fantastic motel! Lovely room, very well equipped kitchenette, comfy bed, exceptionally clean, friendly and helpful owners, large DVD collection for free use by guests. We stayed in the accessible suite, which was fantastic - little private courtyard with table and chairs where we could sit and eat our breakfast, and comfortable living and sleeping spaces. Great location too, very central. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 444Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thanks for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and happy you got to enjoy some of our great southern weather. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We loved our one bedroom spa room. It was tastefully furnished with a well equipped kitchen area. Very comfortable beds and quiet room at back of the complex. Appreciated the free use go the washing machines and a good drying area which was private. Motel on York is ideally situated close to the city centre so the car was not needed during our stay. A great recommendation for eating out locally to Motel on York is Paasha, yummy Turkish food. Would definitely make this motel our choice in the future - also part of HOST accommodation.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oz2Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed our location. Being centrally located is a huge plus for our guests, and in 10 minutes you can walk to over 30 places to eat. Yes, Paasha is a great place to eat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in December and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The apartment was spacious with separate bedroom and bathroom and it contained all we needed.
It was clean and comfortable and the kitchen had sufficient utensils etc for breakfast. It was only a short walk to the Octagon and city center for cafes and restaurants. The central location made it easy to see the city and the on site parking was a plus. We were not bothered by any traffic noise.
A nice touch were the pieces of Christmas cake, made by the owner, offered on arrival and the Christmas tree in the room, it was the most festive place we stayed.
The owners were chatty and helpful and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barneyvip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eoin M, Owner at Motel on York, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thanks for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to comment. Very happy you enjoyed the Christmas touches, and trust we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#33 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.5 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel on York

Property: Motel on York
Address: 47 York Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#18 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel on York 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel on York is a modern complex situated in the heart of the city. With 24 superior, quiet luxury units in a smokefree environment, we offer a range of affordable, high quality accommodation from elegant studios to executive and deluxe suites, all with enhanced video security features and filtered water - right in the centre of Dunedin. All units have LCD TV's. There are laundry facilities on site. Cafes, Theatres, Restaurants and the Main Shopping Centre is a mere 300 metres away from this peaceful inner-city property. For your Dunedin Business Corporate needs we have Free High speed wireless broadband internet (100mbs) access available in all units. Photocopying, and faxing facilities also available. We also have clothing racks.Visit the Cadbury World, Speights, Otago Museum, Dunedin's Railway Station(one of the most photographed in the world), Moana Pool, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Restuarants, Theatre and Shopping all within walking distance from the Motel. Baldwin Street - the worlds steepest street, Larnach Castle with wonderful views over the harbour and Olveston - a landmark Edwardian home built between 1904 and 1906 are just some of the things to see and do while you are in Dunedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Motel on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing