We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple outside,luxury inside”
Review of Motel on York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel on York
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2010

My wife,both of my children and I vistted Dunedin on 18-20 April 2010. We stayed 2 nights at motel on York. The motel is just a stone throw from Octagon,the city center. So, we just parked our car at the motel and walked.on George street., where you hardly find a space to park your car. The motel buliding looked simple from outside. But when my wife saw the room, she was so much impressed with classic, stylish decorateion. My sons also enjoyed wireless high speed internet (with download speed 8 Mbps) in rate 10 NZD for the whole day. Sue&Paul are also very nice to my children. I plan to go back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borvornchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2010

We wish we'd been staying longer!
We had a large room with kitchenette. The patio dors led onto a garden area with tables and chairs. the bathroom was enormous. Most important the service was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We booked into this hotel via one of the i-Site offices and were pleasantly surprised by the room. The rooms were clean and modern. The owners were very helpful providing local information. Finally, the price was reasonable compared to other hotels in NZ. We had paid more money to stay at other hotels which were not as nice.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_Griswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We booked this Motel over the phone because it was recommended by Bluestone on George which was booked out and this was a great suggestion. The location is even better - 3 minute walk to the centre of city, restaurants etc. Free parking. I talked to Paul from Sydney and he reserved a 1 bedroom apt. on the top floor with a little balcony and a view of the harbour. The apt. was beautifully decorated and furnished, and very comfortable. Bed terrific and so was the bathroom. Guest laundry much appreciated. Kitchenette perfect for breakfast and lunch. Paul and Sue are great hosts - nothing was too much trouble - we'd highly recommend it. We stayed 3 nights and were very satisfied.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grange50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

I recently stayed here for six nights while visiting family. I had a lovely studio room on the top floor with great views of the harbour. This motel could not be more conveniently located as it is only 3 minutes walk to the centre of town. It is also quiet as it is not on the main street or the oneway system. The staff where very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oz_Kiwi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Compared to other places around NZ, this was not good value. Neat and tidy, and had all the right equipment, but our room was too small.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbournetraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

We stumbled across this motel, and made a great discovery. The owners are so friendly and helpful, the location is perfect, right in the centre of town. The room was great, with little extras such as chocolates and biscuits. It was great value too.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristchurchJen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#21 of 61 in Dunedin
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#35 of 61 in Dunedin
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#41 of 61 in Dunedin
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.5 mi away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel on York

Address: 47 York Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £75 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel on York 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel on York is a modern complex situated in the heart of the city. With 24 superior, quiet luxury units in a smokefree environment, we offer a range of affordable, high quality accommodation from elegant studios to executive and deluxe suites, all with enhanced video security features and filtered water - right in the centre of Dunedin. All units have LCD TV's. There are laundry facilities on site. Cafes, Theatres, Restaurants and the Main Shopping Centre is a mere 300 metres away from this peaceful inner-city property. For your Dunedin Business Corporate needs we have Free High speed wireless broadband internet (100mbs) access available in all units. Photocopying, and faxing facilities also available. We also have clothing racks.Visit the Cadbury World, Speights, Otago Museum, Dunedin's Railway Station(one of the most photographed in the world), Moana Pool, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Restuarants, Theatre and Shopping all within walking distance from the Motel. Baldwin Street - the worlds steepest street, Larnach Castle with wonderful views over the harbour and Olveston - a landmark Edwardian home built between 1904 and 1906 are just some of the things to see and do while you are in Dunedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing