We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suited Us but Probably more Geared to Business Customers”
Review of Motel on York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel on York
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Suited Us but Probably more Geared to Business Customers”
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Not very inspiring from the outside but the room we were allocated was on the top corner with reasonable views. A welcome change from many other places we have stayed at in NZ is that the rooms were relatively bright. In a central position in view of Town Hall and Cathederal.
Clean, good TV and DVD with free loans, WiFi a small charge. we considered it reasonable value considering position. However if you want to cook then could be a problem - we only had a microwave in our room. Very reluctantly we were given loan of an electric fryer as a special consession after we expressed concern. (During our 5 week stay in NZ we have cooked many of our own meals hence our choice of self catering accommodation rather than hotels). The motel appeared more geared up for the business trip customer.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave_jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    55
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
85
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Motel on York has a great location, has units which are well laid out and very well appointed and very helpful staff. Being able to have adjoining units meant great versatility for our party and we were comfortably able to host six of our daughter's friends for pre dinner drinks after her university graduation. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller201088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chonburi,Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

My wife,both of my children and I vistted Dunedin on 18-20 April 2010. We stayed 2 nights at motel on York. The motel is just a stone throw from Octagon,the city center. So, we just parked our car at the motel and walked.on George street., where you hardly find a space to park your car. The motel buliding looked simple from outside. But when my wife saw the room, she was so much impressed with classic, stylish decorateion. My sons also enjoyed wireless high speed internet (with download speed 8 Mbps) in rate 10 NZD for the whole day. Sue&Paul are also very nice to my children. I plan to go back soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borvornchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuakau, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We wish we'd been staying longer!
We had a large room with kitchenette. The patio dors led onto a garden area with tables and chairs. the bathroom was enormous. Most important the service was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We booked into this hotel via one of the i-Site offices and were pleasantly surprised by the room. The rooms were clean and modern. The owners were very helpful providing local information. Finally, the price was reasonable compared to other hotels in NZ. We had paid more money to stay at other hotels which were not as nice.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_Griswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We booked this Motel over the phone because it was recommended by Bluestone on George which was booked out and this was a great suggestion. The location is even better - 3 minute walk to the centre of city, restaurants etc. Free parking. I talked to Paul from Sydney and he reserved a 1 bedroom apt. on the top floor with a little balcony and a view of the harbour. The apt. was beautifully decorated and furnished, and very comfortable. Bed terrific and so was the bathroom. Guest laundry much appreciated. Kitchenette perfect for breakfast and lunch. Paul and Sue are great hosts - nothing was too much trouble - we'd highly recommend it. We stayed 3 nights and were very satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grange50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

I recently stayed here for six nights while visiting family. I had a lovely studio room on the top floor with great views of the harbour. This motel could not be more conveniently located as it is only 3 minutes walk to the centre of town. It is also quiet as it is not on the main street or the oneway system. The staff where very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz_Kiwi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#35 of 61 in Dunedin
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#41 of 61 in Dunedin
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel on York

Property: Motel on York
Address: 47 York Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel on York 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel on York is a modern complex situated in the heart of the city. With 24 superior, quiet luxury units in a smokefree environment, we offer a range of affordable, high quality accommodation from elegant studios to executive and deluxe suites, all with enhanced video security features and filtered water - right in the centre of Dunedin. All units have LCD TV's. There are laundry facilities on site. Cafes, Theatres, Restaurants and the Main Shopping Centre is a mere 300 metres away from this peaceful inner-city property. For your Dunedin Business Corporate needs we have Free High speed wireless broadband internet (100mbs) access available in all units. Photocopying, and faxing facilities also available. We also have clothing racks.Visit the Cadbury World, Speights, Otago Museum, Dunedin's Railway Station(one of the most photographed in the world), Moana Pool, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Restuarants, Theatre and Shopping all within walking distance from the Motel. Baldwin Street - the worlds steepest street, Larnach Castle with wonderful views over the harbour and Olveston - a landmark Edwardian home built between 1904 and 1906 are just some of the things to see and do while you are in Dunedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing