We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Famous Pancakes”
Review of Capers Cafe

Capers Cafe
Ranked #24 of 349 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
2 reviews
“Famous Pancakes”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is the place to be to get a great tasting and value for money brekkie!!! Once a month they bring out a pancake on the month, which is always tasty and exciting!! Friendly staff and cosy setting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    85
    27
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Busy and rushed”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Was busy and overcrowded, and we were suggested to leave before we had finished our drinks. Food was good - but not worth the experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“busy is not always good”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Staff not so welcoming when we went to the counter to order. I had the poached eggs, not done in the true style. Tight seating made it difficult for a wheelchair. Probably wont go again

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 60sgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service and organisation”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I went to capers to have some pancakes for breakfast and ordered a long black as well. I got the pancake, finished it and was waiting for my coffee when I realized something wasn't right. Everyone else who ordered coffee got theirs immediately so I went up to them to cancel my order as it has already been a long wait. They looked at me like I was an insane person and said I did not order any coffee!! I told them to check the transaction and the next thing they said was "so, you want to refund your long black?" as if they didn't say anything beforehand and chucked me a few coins without a single word of apology... now I don't know what was wrong with the staff but one thing is clear. They need more training regarding customer service and getting their order right. Horrible hospitality... never recommending this place to anyone

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank jj329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy brunch spot”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Really enjoyed Capers. Went for brunch on a Saturday and it was packed. Had the Miners Special - 2 huge pancakes, 4 sausages, hash, and bacon. Also had fries which were equally good. Self-serve syrup. Shared with my sister and we couldn't finish everything.

Staff were very friendly. It was also toasty warm inside didnt want to leave!

Generous portions, great price - would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capers Cafe also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Capers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing