We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rugby World Cup”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Dunedin
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Stayed here during the Rugby World Cup and the hosts, Richard and Sue, could not have been more helpful, warm and welcoming. The rooms are very nice indeed - extremely clean and comfortable - and the coffee in the meeting room is excellent too. The location is a little unprepossessing at first, and you're a 20-30 minute walk away from the city centre, but the flip side is that you're well positioned for a trip down to the fantastic beach front at St Clair and for a bus ride down towards the scenery and wildlife of the Otago Peninsula, which is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnWesterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

You can't fault the cleanliness of the place and the staff are lovely. However the main problem we had was that we just couldn't get any sleep and that is surely the reason for booking a room! The bed in our room was one of those old fashioned sprung ones - you know the sort - your partner tuns over and you are catapualted up to the ceiling! I know NZ is a bit behind the times but to give guests a mattress of such a poor standard is quite shocking.
The other problem is the location. It is a very industrial area, so not a great place for tourists really. But as it is by a roundabout the road noise is awful, particularly when you are trying to get to sleep as the boy racers are revving up their very load cars and using the dual carriageway outside as a race track. This seemed to go until about 3am so there is no way I woule book this motel again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindyHopEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The motel is well located near shops and food outlets. Room was very clean and roomy, and stand-in receptionist was very pleasant.
Next morning the owner helped de-ice my windows on my car - considering it was minus 1 at the time I thought that was pretty good of him.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Universal48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed at Best Western 555 on Bayview for 3 nights in December 2010. Richard was looking after the place solo while Sue was away. We found him to be the most dedicated and thoughtful host that we have ever had the pleasure of staying with.

We didn't really know much about Dunedin, but Richard showed us many places to visit on the map and even after 4 days we ended up feeling like we needed more time to really see everything that Dunedin had to offer. The room was a fairly standard hotel room with quite a large bathroom. The heater worked well and we felt cosy, comfortable and at home. Loved the little Scottish short breads to. Best thing about the entire hotel, of course was Max, especially for those missing their own dogs back home.

We do want to stay here again, not because of spectacular views, a 5 star restaurant or even a TV/DVD/toaster/alarm clock combo in the bathroom, but because we felt truly welcome. I have stayed at 5 star hotels that can't compete with what that. Enjoy your stay and give Max a cuddle for me.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross_Belinda_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Richard & Sue who manage the motel could not have been more helpfull.Even Max the dog wagged his tail at the right time.I hope to return if i can.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulhennerley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

The room was small but exceptionally clean. The staff amazing and we loved the mascot 'Max' who checked us in and then came to say hello each time we returned. The location is a little out of the CBD but perfect as its between the city and the sea. The new esplanade experience is terrific (St Clair Beach) where you get to see the locals surfing in the -1 degree sea.....
Would certainly choose this hotel again. Thanks for making us so welcome!!!

Room Tip: Be prepared for a standard hotel room w/trimmings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeyImage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xamxam_10, Owner at Best Western Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms, and are very proud to have received an International Quality Assurance Award from Best Western International for "Excellence in Quality and Standards". As owner-operators we are always on hand to greet our guests and to provide as much assistance as we possibly can to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay here. And of course there's Max (our 41/2 year old Miniature Poodle) who is always delighted to welcome new guests and remember past visitors to our premises. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, kind regards Sue and Richard.

PS Message from Max - he's telling me he's always willing and ready to take you on a walk or a run around the neighborhood or even catch a ball !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

we are a family accompanied by a seven year old girl. Stayes for 2 nights and Sue was the most helpful host. My daughter played with her dog Max and we received tomatoes and feijoa from her own garden. She is such a lovely person and her husband booked for us the amazing tour at the yellow penguin eye reservation center. Five minutes by car to the center of town (railway station). The only bathroom in New Zealand with a detachable shower douche.!

Room Tip: Talk to Sue and ask her dog to sit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpaul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
782 reviews
1.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 61 in Dunedin
295 reviews
6.2 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
645 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dunedin

Address: 555 Andersons Bay Road, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand (Formerly Best Western 555 On Bayview)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £72 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dunedin 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Dunedin motel located at Anderson’s Bay, the gateway to the Otago Peninsula, and closest accommodation to The Edgar Centre and Dunedin’s major attractions. Best Western 555 on Bayview offers quality accommodation in Dunedin. The motel is only a three minute drive from the Octagon, the heart of Dunedin with its art galleries, restaurants, bars, shops and convention centre. The beaches of the Otago Peninsula are almost on your doorstep, a 5 minute drive to Forsyth Barr Stadium and the Otago University Campus is a short drive away. Best Western 555 on Bayview is a quiet hotel with 26 comfortable executive guest rooms each featuring a super king bed, cable Sky digital TV and free wifi. This Dunedin motel also offers a guest laundry and BBQ. There are restaurants within a 5 minute walk away and several provide charge back facilities located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing