We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Motel In Dunedin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Dunedin
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is the best motel in Dunedin,we were visiting family for Christmas and we had the one bedroom unit,very large room for the three of us.
We got a warm welcome on arrival from Richard and given a map of the town.
We have stayed in Dunedin many times before,this is the best motel we have stayed at by a long way.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie-on-vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2011

Would make a bee line for this place when i next need to go down to Dunedin. Is easy access to town and the peninsula. Very helpful staff who are prepared to go out of their way to help make your stay pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 671RachH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My wife and me spent 1 night in the motel while travelling NZ. I felt very much welcomed by our hosts, Richard explained Dunedin's must sees and provided tips fot the Catlins tour the day after. The motel is close to a supermarket in walking distance, and provides modern rooms with decent equipment. DVDs and Web access are available as well.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galaxyclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Although this Hotel is near a busy road you definitely do not feel that when staying there. The rooms are quiet, there are restaurants and a supermarket quite close by, it's easy to find when coming from the airport and management are friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Great place, comfortable location and warm excellent service.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Stayed here during the Rugby World Cup and the hosts, Richard and Sue, could not have been more helpful, warm and welcoming. The rooms are very nice indeed - extremely clean and comfortable - and the coffee in the meeting room is excellent too. The location is a little unprepossessing at first, and you're a 20-30 minute walk away from the city centre, but the flip side is that you're well positioned for a trip down to the fantastic beach front at St Clair and for a bus ride down towards the scenery and wildlife of the Otago Peninsula, which is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnWesterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

You can't fault the cleanliness of the place and the staff are lovely. However the main problem we had was that we just couldn't get any sleep and that is surely the reason for booking a room! The bed in our room was one of those old fashioned sprung ones - you know the sort - your partner tuns over and you are catapualted up to the ceiling! I know NZ is a bit behind the times but to give guests a mattress of such a poor standard is quite shocking.
The other problem is the location. It is a very industrial area, so not a great place for tourists really. But as it is by a roundabout the road noise is awful, particularly when you are trying to get to sleep as the boy racers are revving up their very load cars and using the dual carriageway outside as a race track. This seemed to go until about 3am so there is no way I woule book this motel again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindyHopEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
782 reviews
1.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 61 in Dunedin
295 reviews
6.2 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
646 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dunedin

Address: 555 Andersons Bay Road, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand (Formerly Best Western 555 On Bayview)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £71 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dunedin 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Dunedin motel located at Anderson’s Bay, the gateway to the Otago Peninsula, and closest accommodation to The Edgar Centre and Dunedin’s major attractions. Best Western 555 on Bayview offers quality accommodation in Dunedin. The motel is only a three minute drive from the Octagon, the heart of Dunedin with its art galleries, restaurants, bars, shops and convention centre. The beaches of the Otago Peninsula are almost on your doorstep, a 5 minute drive to Forsyth Barr Stadium and the Otago University Campus is a short drive away. Best Western 555 on Bayview is a quiet hotel with 26 comfortable executive guest rooms each featuring a super king bed, cable Sky digital TV and free wifi. This Dunedin motel also offers a guest laundry and BBQ. There are restaurants within a 5 minute walk away and several provide charge back facilities located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing