We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Bowen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Lovely stay for 2 nights. Good for getting around and sightseeing. Close to city and Otago Peninsula. We were given a upgrade with king sized bed and spa. Very helpful when we had a bit of car trouble. They helped find somewhere to get a tyre fixed on a Sunday. When mentioned no vegemite on breakfast tray they found some for the next day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jansting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
555Bayview, Owner at BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
All our units have Sealy Super King beds in them so you will always be assured of a comfortable and relaxing rest.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    61
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
52
112
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
255 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

A standard motel - nothing overly special apart from its a place to sleep. Room was warm and clean, reception fella friendly as needed. Had no ice trays, heater was good, pretty quiet unit, close to supermarkets and maccas, kfc etc

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
555Bayview, Owner at BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hello Cameron, thanks for your review, I'm pleased Jason looked after you when you checked in and you found everything in order. All our fridges have ice trays in them so I'm sorry I can't understand why yours didn't, my apolgies if that was the case.
Best regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Had no where to stay and stumbled across this motel. The young guy on reception was really helpful and accommodating. We ended up staying two nights. Very clean, comfortable rooms throughout the unit with a little kitchenette stocked with a good supply of tea, coffee, hot chocolate. Supermarket across the road didn't close until late which was handy. Bus stop right outside for transport into city so we didn't have to drive. Quiet location & handy to the Peninsula and St Clair. Only one negative which is I think the driveway entrance to the property off the street could be wider. As I recall I don't think two cars could pass each other. That said I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
555Bayview, Owner at BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your recent review, Im pleased we could help you with a room for your 2 night stay and everything was of a high standard. Kind regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gore, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Best Motel to stay in Dunedin, the rooms are very clean and furnished to a high standard, having large flat screen TV's, very good shower and a large king sized bed.
The owners are very helpful and willing to assist with any questions, the free Wifi was much appreciated.
I will be staying here during my next visit to Dunedin.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
555Bayview, Owner at BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you again to stay with us when you are next in Dunedin.
Regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stayed at Best Western 555 on Bayview recently and had a wonderful stay. The rooms are very clean and modern with a kitchenette which is always a bonus for breakfast. The owners couldn't be more helpful and friendly and really made my stay. Dined at st clair which was easy to get to as is town. Will definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
555Bayview, Owner at BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Many thanks for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are very lucky to have such a lot of good restaurant/cafes close by, especially at St Clair beach, you do not need to go into the City for a great quality meal.
We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Dunedin.
Kind regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

My husband and myself stayed in the Best Western 555 on Bayview for 5 nights and were absolutely delighted with the comfort and cleanliness of the motel. We were made to feel very welcome. So close to the city but so quiet. We have just made another booking to return later in the year. Can totally recommend this Motel. Even the coffee was the ''Best".

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiecat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
555Bayview, Owner at BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your review, it was good to have you stay for a longer time and great that you telephoned us and booked direct, we can always offer a better price for a longer stay period if you talk to us personally.
We look forward to your up-coming visit again
Best wishes Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on the last leg of our 17 day South Island trip. Being away from the city centre, I wasn't quite sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised by its location. There is a Countdown (like our Woolies) right across the road and a few fast food places within close walking distance. There was a cold-snap when we were visiting so we didn't walk to the beach, but that is fairly close (I think about 20-25 minutes walk). The city centre is a close drive.

The Best Western 555 represented great value for money as we were able to self-cater a bit and have a good nights' rest in a spacious, clean and comfortable room. Sue was lovely and was happy to help if required. Best of all - free wifi!

Overall, we would definitely stay here again if coming to Dunedin.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim-Andrew04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
2.3 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
2.4 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview

Property: BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview
Address: 555 Andersons Bay Road, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern motel, with Super King beds throughout complex 42" Phillips Televisions in all rooms. Sky/Cable TV, Free DVD library, Breakfast available. New ground- floor conference room available.Supermarket across street open from 7.00am till 10pm.Easy,quick access to city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing