We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, cozy stay and fantastic service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Dunedin
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Comfy, cozy stay and fantastic service!”
Reviewed 27 May 2010

The room we had was comfy and very clean. We had a good night's rest, bed and pillows were very comfortable! Richard and Sue were very friendly and helpful. As we are travelling with our parents who prefer Chinese food, Richard recommended a restaurant nearby serving tasty and authentic Chinese cuisine. The only drawback of this hotel is the curtains at the main glass door. It is almost mission impossible to draw the curtains from the outside just before you close the door. Hubby hurt his hand in the process and had a minor cut. Other than this minor flaw, overall it's a good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    64
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
53
115
26
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2010

555 On Bayview exceeded all of my expectations. Richard and Sue were fantastic hosts.
The rooms are modern, comfortable and very clean which is such a welcome change.
If you are looking for value for money,exceptional service and friendly advice on the sights around Dunedin you would be foolish to stay anywhere else. We will certainly be back.

Trudy Smith,
Christchurch.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

AS a commerical traveler you look for creature comforts. a good bed a quite room , good shower and good service.

Having stayed in many hotel/motels over the years when you find a good place to stay you stick to it as they are few and far between.

I highly recommend 555 on Bayview to anyone who wants great service.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comm-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2010

We stayed in this hotel for more than a week. You can certainly guess why. We were very satisfied with their service !!! Balance between price and service is a worth compromis. This hotel has excellent room (modern, warm, cousy, full of sunlight), good cleaning service (no doubt at all), good internet connection and certainly great hospitalty from the hotel staffs and the owners, Richard and Sue. They were always ready to help you anytime you need help.
The location of this hotel is very strategic. It is closed to shops, bus stop, restaurants, 10-15 min to city centre/university/hospital, Edgar sport center, Otago Peninsula, St Kilda, St Clair and Highway 1. Based on our experience, we highly recommend this hotel to anyone who come to Dunedin not only for business but also for leisure. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wafwaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2009

We stayed four days at this motel and found the one bedroom studio with well equiped kitchenette to be very clean and modern in decor. The owners Richard and Sue and their staff were friendly and helpful. The motel is well located in South Dunedin close to a large supermarket, several take away outlets and service station. Buses to the city run frequently from the nearby main road.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussievisit0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

I got stung with a higher room rate that was not able to be changed. This set the tone for my quick stay. Hotel is clean and modern but noisy next to a roundabout. The lower rooms are very open to other guests so you end up closing the curtains and you could be in any hotel room in the world. Staff/owners very service orrientated.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulls, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Traveled to Dunedin with my sister to look at the University of Otago, and stayed at the 555 motel following a brilliant recommendation from a friend. Location was great...close to town and the university, but also situated in a great place for exploring Dunedin's spectacular scenery and fantastic culture. As an extremely tall person, I am used to felling somewhat cramped in motel rooms, but found the rooms were extremely spacious, and I could sleep comfortably without my feet getting cold. Sue and Richard (our hosts) were incredible, both friendly and knowledgeable as well as more than happy to help at any time. It was great to find a pet friendly motel, with Sue and Richard having Max the dog and Franklin the turtle interacting with the guests- great for the kids!

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and I can highly recommend the 555 to anyone traveling to Dunedin- I can guarantee you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
2.3 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
728 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
1.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
626 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
759 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dunedin

Property: Best Western Dunedin
Address: 555 Andersons Bay Road, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand (Formerly Best Western 555 On Bayview)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Dunedin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Dunedin motel located at Anderson’s Bay, the gateway to the Otago Peninsula, and closest accommodation to The Edgar Centre and Dunedin’s major attractions. Best Western 555 on Bayview offers quality accommodation in Dunedin. The motel is only a three minute drive from the Octagon, the heart of Dunedin with its art galleries, restaurants, bars, shops and convention centre. The beaches of the Otago Peninsula are almost on your doorstep, a 5 minute drive to Forsyth Barr Stadium and the Otago University Campus is a short drive away. Best Western 555 on Bayview is a quiet hotel with 26 comfortable executive guest rooms each featuring a super king bed, cable Sky digital TV and free wifi. This Dunedin motel also offers a guest laundry and BBQ. There are restaurants within a 5 minute walk away and several provide charge back facilities located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing