We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hi there...”

Geeky Gecko Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Geeky Gecko Backpackers
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
“Hi there...”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

After some rainy cold camping days outside, we were glad to find pennys hostel. The room rate is affordable nd the room are ood so far. The beds were comfortable, and with the heater n the room t was really cosy. The kitchen is well equiped. Many showers and toilet rooms. So no need to wait for too Long. All in all it was a good decission to stay here.

Thx Penny!! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    26
    14
    16
    26
See reviews for
6
27
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Had to stop there for one night and this is the worst hostel I have personally stayed at. It was so dodgy I never even had a look to the kitchen or lounge and stayed in vicinity of my room and left first thing in the morning. We had a private room, sheets were dirty, there was no top sheet or cover on the doona. Bathrooms mouldy and carpet greasy. It seemed to attract pretty weird crowd too, odd older people and hippies (the dirty kind). I would not recommend it for any other reason than the cheap price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiretSade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunedin hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Smelling, dirty, horrible beds - worst bed ever. They were so old and noisy that every time I moved my pinky toe, the whole dorm would wake up. The kitchen was dirty and there was no soap to use for doing the dishes so everything was probably really dirty. The staff was really ignorant and didn't even know about the parking rules just outside the hostel. I would never go back and I already told people on my way around NZ NOT to go there.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Thehappydanefromnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Penny's Backpackers is a friendly and relaxed place with one of the best lounges I've ever seen: Free Wifi, Playstation, big TV and lots of very comfortable couches. The Kitchen was big and well equipped, somtimes a bit dirty caused by some untidy guest but it was not that bad. Our room had a big tv too and it was nice and clean. The toilets and showers could have been better and sometimes it was a little bit cold but for the price we payed it was definetly good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julius k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

If you don't mind mould and/or dirt then this will be the perfect place for you to stay! Rooms are dirty, bed sheets are used and dirty, toilet and bathroom facilities are a disaster! Kitchen would be ok if guests would actually clean up their mess. Never come back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Me and my friend stayed for a couple of nights in Penny's backpackers. The good thing was that there were computers and free internet, although the computers were slow it worked.
In my opinion this was the worst hostel in NZ where I have stayed.
It was not very clean (toilets and common area) and the day we arrived we were in a room with an alcohol/homeless guy who was smoking in the dorm and used to sleep in the common area. We did not feel comfortable with it and it was nice we could change the dorm, but I don't understand why they let this kind of people stay in a backpackers hostel!!

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hostel at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LailaQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Andre, SP
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The location is a little bit far than the central city and despite there is free wifi, the cleanness is poor, and the bed linen, in particular the blankets was disgusting. However, the staff was quite amiable and the comum room is nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlineMonteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.1 mi away
Motel on Carroll
Motel on Carroll
#53 of 61 in Dunedin
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quest Dunedin
Quest Dunedin
#48 of 61 in Dunedin
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#33 of 61 in Dunedin
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#56 of 61 in Dunedin
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
On Top Backpackers
On Top Backpackers
#4 of 44 in Dunedin
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geeky Gecko Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geeky Gecko Backpackers

Property: Geeky Gecko Backpackers
Address: 6 Stafford Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Penny's Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Geeky Gecko Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Geeky Gecko Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing