We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldie but NOT a Goodie!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
Ranked #56 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I recently had the misfortune of staying in one of the Sahara's motel units for 3 nights. They are behind the guest house.

The not very good stuff:
The unit itself is batch like. Very dated and worn out. The carpets thread bare and manky. The TV is one of those old big backed ones and is only like about a 14". The first night we had to watch whatever was on when we turned it on as there was no remote for changing channels and you couldn't change it any other way! We went to reception the next day and they gave us a remote for it. Another annoying thing was that it wasn't in your bedroom, so you couldn't lie in bed and watch it. The kitchenette is even older and feels like you have stepped out of a time machine! We are talking hot plates on top of a wee 1960's oven that is sitting on top of a wee wobbly table at the end of an old formica island bar. I think i remember stuff like this when i was a kid and back then it was extremely old!! It ws amazing actually! The bedroom itself was shocking!! It had a double bed in it and nothing else as there wasn't room for anything else! The "double bed" took up the entire room! The bathroom (if that's what you would call it!) was off the bedroom. I was unwell at the time so handy that after getting out of bed i was in the bathroom after taking 2 steps! Yes... I kid you not! 2 steps from the side of me bed and you were standing in the bathroom!!!! The door to the bathroom was sliding as there was no room for it to open on either side. The shower was a death trap and very slippery. There was black mould (?) in the grouting of the white tiles. I noticed when we arrived that the blinds on the window at the foot of our bed were closed. I opened the only to see the view...A slimy concrete retaining wall type thing that would've been over 10ft high. A great view and right up against the window. The unit had a musty smell and was damp as they had a dehumidifier (switched on when we arrived!) in the main living area and in the morning the windows and ranch slider were soaking wet and dripping onto the floor.

The good stuff:
There were plenty of pillows,
When it got cold there was a heater that worked fine.
You have your own parking.
It's not too far away from town.
The people running it were pleasant.

For us I'm sorry to say, but the bad far out-weighed the good with this establishment. We will not be back and i would not reccommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Go somewhere other than Sahara!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShazWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

The SGH is in the perfect location. Walk to parks, the Octogon, restaurants and shopping. I even walked to the new stadium to watch the All Blacks! Victorian homes everywhere!!!

We stayed in a newer side building on the main floor. Comfy bed, flat screen tv, mini kitchen with everything you'd need to cook at home. There's even a small dining table for two.

The nicest owner/caretaker ever!!! He will help you find your way to anywhere around and seems he would do just about thing for you.

Pros: Great location, roomy, comfy, heat/ac with a good fan to help you sleep, stocked mini kitchen, great customer service, parking.

Cons: Not a one!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer building with a mini kitchen if staying a bit. First floor is good beca...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phog67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Wonderful Owner to deal with. Nothing's a problem. Great accommodation. Extra blankets and pillows if needed. It's very close to town and also very quite. We had cooking facilities a very good heater and a few channels of SKY. We also noticed the tv had a dvd built in so rented a couple of movies for the night and kicked back. We will be staying again.

Room Tip: Just ask the owner. He will fit your needs.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Me and my partner stayed her as we had a dog with us and this place allowed dogs. We stayed in the cheapest part of the motel so it wasn't flash, but we did not mind. The owner was very friendly he made you feel at home, if it hadnt been for the owner I don't think this place would have been that great.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in Dunedin for 4 days for a conference. It is veryclose and walking to University and to shops was easily achieved.
Despite their age, the motel units that we stayed in were well appointed, clean and warm We were able to cook a meal easily, and prepare our breakfasts.
The staff were helpful and we had clean towels every day, with rubbish collection.
The bathroom was tiny, but hot water was excellent and it was clean..just old and a bit tired decoratively.
The bed was warm, but again the room was small, and plump bodies would find it a squeeze getting around the double bed. It was not as firm as I like, but my husband slept blissfully.
The TV worked well, and there was a comfortable 2 person couch for viewing. it was nice to have a separate kitchen living room, and we used the single bed in the room for our storage.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daleringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Our room was in the new building of this motel. it was a very clean room with a queen size bed and a single bed. The toilet and bathroom were very clean. It was almost 2 Km away from the the Octagon (city center). Friendly staffs :)

Room Tip: I found out that the motel has a big variety of rooms located in the old and the new buildings. The...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pablo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Our room was spacious and clean however the room we were in had the smallest shower toilet and basin facility, it basically was a little larger than a normal sized toilet. Walking distance to shopping and university. Staff were very obliging

Room Tip: My only real gripe was the size of the showering facility - I would stay there again, however, I wou...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZHalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.9 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#55 of 61 in Dunedin
108 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#31 of 61 in Dunedin
201 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#48 of 61 in Dunedin
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cable Court Motel
Cable Court Motel
#30 of 61 in Dunedin
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.0 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 61 in Dunedin
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel

Address: 619 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £32 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sahara Guesthouse And Motel
The Sahara Guesthouse Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing