We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”
Review of Allan Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Allan Court Motel
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This would have to be the nicest motel I have stayed in. Spotlessly clean, spacious rooms and very comfortable furniture. Walking distance to the octagon and also the botanic gardens (which are lovely and worth a visit.) I would highly recommend this motel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed a couple of nights here. Warm welcome from helpful host. He gave us a video of Dunedin to watch and suggested places of interest to visit. Unit was spacious and clean. Only a short 15 minute walk to octagon. Secure parking. Would certainly stay here agan.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We were welcomed into the motel by the owner who was a fund of knowledge about the city. He gave us tips on what to see and do and loaned us a video about Dunedin that showed the places of interest. The motel was extremely comfortable, we were in a sunny upstairs unit. Everything in the unit was sparkling clean and the parking was in a secure courtyard. It was within 15 minutes walking distance to the Octagon where many restaurants and bars are situated. We stayed in the accommodation for two nights and when we were leaving in the morning we were given a booklet showing places of interest that we could stop on our way North. Super service for the whole stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Our standard studio was quiet, definitely "compact", but acceptable. Free wi-fi was unlimited. The staff were friendly and helpful. The kitchenette had everything to cook a proper meal.The bathroom was fine - good shower. The motel is within easy walking distance of Dunedin centre, which is perhaps why it is more expensive than other motels we´ve stayed at of a similar standard. In February, we didn´t require A/C (none available), but heating, which worked well!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IgelEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I have sayed at this motel twice now and have found the rooms roomy and well set up with modern furniture. They are extremely clean and have good bathroom products and even a bickie for your cuppa. The motel is in a good location with plenty of parking. The only negative was there were only 2 very flat pillows for a King bed which I ended up having to fold in half to sleep. A couple of extra pillows in the main bedroom room would top the stay off to be even greater that our stay was.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stenedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Great place to stay. We have stayed before some years ago and it is still as good as we remember. We asked for a one bedroom unit because we know they provide a decent tv in lounge and bedroom. Heaps of room, comfortable bed, no traffic noise, and wonderful staff to care for you. Just a brisk walk and you are in the main shopping area of the city.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nicely placed within a courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seekers262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Allan Court was a friendly, well equipped motel in a good ocation cose to the centre. It was spotlessly clean and user friendly, but the highlight was the free, super fast, easy to log on internet. It was by far the best I have experienced in New Zealand. Why can't all establishments follow this excellent example?

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpossum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 61 in Dunedin
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#5 of 61 in Dunedin
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#25 of 61 in Dunedin
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
299 reviews
0 mi away
George Street Motel Apartments
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Dunedin
Bella Vista Dunedin
#37 of 61 in Dunedin
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allan Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allan Court Motel

Address: 590 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £75 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Allan Court Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our units are non-smoking, warm and spacious with cooking facilities, microwave, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, television in the main bedroom and lounge, Sky channels, DVD, Free wifi unlimited. Guest Laundry, free off street parking, continental breakfasts are available. We are close to Forsyth Barr Stadium, Otago museum, main shopping precinct, restaurants, cafes,bars, University of Otago, Botanical Gardens. Tours to the Otago Peninsula, albatross and penguin colonies. Larnach Castle, Cadbury World, Speights Brewery, Taieri Gorge Railway trip, Monarch harbour cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Allan Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing