We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of everything and ultimately comfortable”
Review of Allan Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Allan Court Motel
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A bit of everything and ultimately comfortable”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed in late June just after a severe storm in the area and a spell of cold weather. The exterior was looking tired and some of the building seemed unchanged since built, such as the doors and windows, so it had an older feel to it. Kitchenette was OK for an overnight stay as we only needed to make some coffee. There was milk and a morning paper in the morning. Bathroom was clean and neat and all fittings modern so no problems there at all. Staff were friendly and responded to enquiries helpfully. Location at University end of town was perfect for where we wanted to be, but wouldn't be as convenient if we needed to be closer to the city centre a short drive but a long walk away. There are some good little eateries close bye with a selection from burgers, Asian noodles to Irish pub. For a week night this motel was full compared to others nearby so it seems popular enough. I would recommend this motel for a quiet businesslike stay.

Room Tip: The unit by the entrance on the other side of the driveway from the office is completely separate fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eudele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    41
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
56
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orewa, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Units are well appointed with little niceties such as sewing kits and makeup removal cloths. Kitchen facilities more than adequate with ability for self catering. We stayed as part of a group and all members were very happy with their stay. We were able to leave a vehicle in their park during our 8 days of touring away.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin_the_organist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a 2 bedroom apt on the first floor. Unit was huge, spacious, clean, well equipped and easily accomodate 6 adults. Lots of privacy, and very quiet. Manager in charged was super helpful, even loan us a 'must-do in Dunedin' dvd. There's also a toy box for loan to keep our young one occupied throughout our stay. We walked down to Octagon in the afternoon, and even though it's more than 1 km away it felt nearer as there's lots of shops and restaurants along the way. Lots of choices for food, such as Thai Over, Lonestar and Capers are just within short walking distance. There's also a popular and cheap ice cream joint just 2 blocks down from the motel. Must try!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Though not particularly prepossessing from the outside, my unit in the motel appeared to have been very recently refurbished inside, with a surprising number of extra features such as double glazing (not common in New Zealand) and really nice thick soft sheets. The units are large and spacious, and it's a fantastically central location for town, the university and the stadium, while being very quiet. Good secure off-street parking and very helpful hosts. Free wifi access which i found to be pretty fast even though the place was full. Spotlessly clean, and everything worked well. Excellent lighting in the living area unlike so many places that have no overhead lights. I'll be sure to stay here again.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have reflective glass for privacy. Otherwise all good if you don't mind stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliveP523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I was in Dunedin for a week in March to watch the England test match. In England when you mention a motel it conjurers up thoughts of Benny and miss Dianne at a rather dingy Cross roads. Nothing could be further from the truth at Allan Court..

The motel is ideally located for the cricket being only 10 minute walk from the ground and the town centre. I arrived on the bus from Queenstown, and check in was quick and efficient, The staff were friendly, albeit their prediction of fine weather for the first day of the test were somewhat wide of the mark.

The rooms are a good size, clean and tidy. The beds are comfortable, and there isn't a lot of road noise, so a good nights sleep is ensured (which is nice if you have just flown half way around the world).

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms are all pretty similar. Not much of a view wherever you stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExeterHector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Friends and I stayed at the Allan Court Motel and found the apartment spacious, warm, light and airy. The proprietor was friendly and helpful. Bathroom amenities were plentiful, beautiful white towels, sparkling clean bathroom, as was the whole unit. The beds were comfortable with that all important electric blanket for those not used to the cooler weather in the South. Plenty of pillows and extra blankets ensured we were all warm and comfortable. There were heaters and a TV in every room which were an added bonus. All in all, great accommodation for a reasonable price. Thanks to the staff including the very diligent cleaners. Well worth staying here. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This would have to be the nicest motel I have stayed in. Spotlessly clean, spacious rooms and very comfortable furniture. Walking distance to the octagon and also the botanic gardens (which are lovely and worth a visit.) I would highly recommend this motel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.4 mi away
Cable Court Motel
Cable Court Motel
#31 of 61 in Dunedin
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora on George
Aurora on George
#17 of 61 in Dunedin
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
George Street Motel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
538 Great King Motel
538 Great King Motel
#18 of 61 in Dunedin
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#26 of 61 in Dunedin
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#5 of 61 in Dunedin
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allan Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allan Court Motel

Property: Allan Court Motel
Address: 590 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Allan Court Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our units are non-smoking, warm and spacious with cooking facilities, microwave, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, television in the main bedroom and lounge, Sky channels, DVD, Free wifi unlimited. Guest Laundry, free off street parking, continental breakfasts are available. We are close to Forsyth Barr Stadium, Otago museum, main shopping precinct, restaurants, cafes,bars, University of Otago, Botanical Gardens. Tours to the Otago Peninsula, albatross and penguin colonies. Larnach Castle, Cadbury World, Speights Brewery, Taieri Gorge Railway trip, Monarch harbour cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Allan Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing