We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place”
Review of Allan Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Allan Court Motel
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Had a very pleasant 2 day stay. Owners were very friendly and helpful. The room was homely, clean and quiet. Nice little touches like sewing kit as well as umbrellas to use were really appreciated. So handy to the University and a short walk to central Dunedin.
Will stay again when next in Dunedin.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

We enjoyed staying here very much. The motel felt like it was brand new - shiney clean and kitchnette, bathroom and dining room areas had everything you needed and felt like home. I needed to plug my motorised wheelchair in at night to re-charge and the motel owners and staff were very helpful and let me do this in the garage. Great location - so flat and close to university, shops and the city. We recommend it wholeheartedly and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here in a one bed unit, it was light, clean and spacious and well equipped. The furnishings and fittings were of good quality and in good repair, although somewhat dated. The laundry facilities are modern and readily available.

It is conveniently situated for the university, which is a five minute walk away, and the town centre, 10-15mns walk. There is no attractive garden outlook. Our room looked out over the car park of the local estate agents, but this was clean and open and the room well insulated, so it posed no problem

We fully agree with all comments regarding the owners. They are exceedingly friendly and helpful and always willing to help out in any way, including with information and advice. They are a mine of very interesting information about Dunedin, a city of which they are clearly proud residents.

We would happily recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffrey_carver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The staff could not do enough for us - in fact, it was hard to get them to stop talking sometimes!
We were booked in to this motel by my husbands work, he was there for work, so the 7 month old and I joined him.
Our room was spacious and clean, the kitchenette was fantastic. The loan of the high chair and baby bath were wonderful. We were offered to stay in the room up to 2 hours after usual checkout, after also being able to check in early. The free wifi was efficient and quick.
The ONLY complaint we have? That we had to go through the bedroom to get between the bathroom and the living area - past the baby we were trying to keep asleep. But in the big scheme of things, thats seriously trivial.
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel-Kiwi_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This motel was first class for a recent business trip to Dunedin. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable and provided all that I needed during my stay. It is located on George Street so is convenient to town and especially some excellent restaurants and cafes. It is also very close to the University of Otago and all that it has to offer. Good off road parking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie and Bill U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had a warm welcome at this well equipped motel with lots of advice for local attractions and restaurants. They also loaned us a DVD of the area in order that we could see what was on offer. This motel was only 20 minutes walk from the centre of town, many restaurants and the famous railway station.
The continental breakfast was served the night before and was fine except for the fruit which was tinned.
Because of its location the outlook was poor and it also lost a mark because of a poor shower and spa bath that could not be operated between the hours of 11:00pm to 7:30am.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JGV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had a death in the family needed to book accomodation for family members flying in from Canada, Ausie and NZ.
Not sure of date of funeral or lenght of stay required Allan Court were very good in helping us and holding rooms.
No problem at rearranging rooms to suit. Very clean and tidy. close to centre of town walking distance.
Nice apartments for families.
Thanks

Room Tip: Ask for back of motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunce-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.4 mi away
Cable Court Motel
Cable Court Motel
#31 of 61 in Dunedin
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#5 of 61 in Dunedin
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#24 of 61 in Dunedin
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
George Street Motel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allan Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allan Court Motel

Address: 590 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £77 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Allan Court Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our units are non-smoking, warm and spacious with cooking facilities, microwave, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, television in the main bedroom and lounge, Sky channels, DVD, Free wifi unlimited. Guest Laundry, free off street parking, continental breakfasts are available. We are close to Forsyth Barr Stadium, Otago museum, main shopping precinct, restaurants, cafes,bars, University of Otago, Botanical Gardens. Tours to the Otago Peninsula, albatross and penguin colonies. Larnach Castle, Cadbury World, Speights Brewery, Taieri Gorge Railway trip, Monarch harbour cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Allan Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing